India register historic win at MCG

India have secured the Border-Gavaskar trophy with them by beating Australia by 137 runs in Melbourne Cricket Ground as the Boxing Day Test.

India secure series win at MCG

The series was well poised before the start of the Boxing Day Test as both teams had one win each. India took on Australia in Melbourne Cricket Ground as the Boxing Day Test.

Indian skipper Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to bat first. India had three changes as Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal and Ravindra Jadeja came in while Australia played Mitchell Marsh in place of Peter Handscomb.

Also Read - BPL 2019 team preview: Rajshahi Kings

After electing to bat first, India had a well dominating first innings as India scored 443 runs with the 17th Test ton of Cheteshwar Pujara while Virat Kohli and Mayank Agarwal scored half-centuries.

In reply, Australia were bowled out for only 151 runs in their first innings as Indian pacer Jasprit Bumrah bagged six wickets and recorded another historic moment in the match. It resulted in 292 runs lead for India from the first innings.

After taking a match-winning lead in the first innings, Indian batsmen failed to withstand the bowling attack of Australian bowlers. As wickets felt in regular intervals, India declared the second innings on 106/8 and set a target of 399 for the hosts.

Australia were put in a tough situation to save a match with a giant target ahead and two full days were remaining in the play when they came into bat. Once again Indian bowlers dominated with the ball and took India to a winning path.

Australia managed to survive on the day 4 as Indian bowlers failed to grab last two wickets of the Australian second innings. The first session of day 5 was also washed out due to rain and which brought slight luck to the hosts.

But fortunately for India rain stopped and the second session was started after an early lunch break. As soon as the start of play in the second session, Indian bowlers took the two remaining wickets and ensured the win for India.

Australia scored 261 runs in their second innings. Jasprit Bumrah and Ravindra Jadeja bagged three wickets while Ishant Sharma and Mohammad Shami took two. Jasprit Bumrah was awarded as the man of the match for the sum of nine wickets in the match.

Brief Scores:

1st Innings:

India: 443/7 dec
Cheteshwar Pujara 106, Virat Kohli 82
Pat Cummins 3/72, Mitchell Starc 2/87

Australia: 151-all out
Marcus Harris 22, Tim Paine 22
Jasprit Bumrah 6/33, Ravindra Jadeja 2/45

2nd Innings:

India: 106/8 dec
Mayank Agarwal 42, Rishab Pant 33
Pat Cummins 6/27, Josh Hazlewood 2/22

Australia: 261-all out
Pat Cummins 63, Shaun Marsh 44
Jasprit Bumrah 3/53, Ravindra Jadeja 3/82

India won the match by 137 runs

Watch India’s winning moments here-

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Watch: Smith takes a flying catch to dismiss Woakes

Watch: Kohli clarifies why he posted pic with Dhoni

Panesar predicts the winner of ICC Test Championship

Watch: Bairstow does ‘fake fielding’ to run Steve Smith out

Marsh sacrificed $3 million to play in Ashes