Jamaica maintain dominance over Patriots

Jamaica Tallawahs have sealed their third consecutive win of CPL 2018 after a thumping 47-run victory over St Kitts and Nevis Patriots in the eighth match at Sabina Park, Kingston, Jamaica.

Jamaica maintain dominance over Patriots
Tallawahs win three in a row. ©Getty Images


Hosts Tallawahs posted 178/4 on board after being sent into bat by the Patriots. Openers Kennar Lewis and Glenn Phillips gave a commanding start for Jamaica with a 64-run partnership. Lewis smashed 49 runs off 24 balls with 4 fours and 4 sixes. Sandeep Lamichhane broke the stand as he took two in an over.

Also Read - Ireland A-Bangladesh A 2nd T20 rescheduled

Phillips was joined by his countryman Ross Taylor, adding 53 runs for the third-wicket. Phillips made 41 from 38. Taylor batted till the end. His half-century gave the hosts a fighting total. Taylor scored unbeaten 51 runs off 35 balls hitting 2 fours and 4 sixes.

St Kitts and Nevis’ top-order and middle-order collapsed in the run chase as they lost 6 for 61. Skipper Chris Gayle hit 1 four and 3 sixes in his 25-ball 24 runs innings. Mahmudullah Riyad hung around for a while. He scored 22 off 15 with 2 fours and a six.

The visitors didn’t recover anymore. Krishmar Santokie, Adam Zampa and Imad Wasim scalped two wickets each, Jamaica restricted them to 131/9 to seal a 47-run victory. They are now on top of the CPL table with six points.

Jamaica will move to Florida to play their next three matches.

Brief scores:

Jamaica Tallawahs 178/4 in 20 overs (R Taylor 51*, K Lewis 49, Phillips 41; Lamichhane 2/21)

St Kitts and Nevis Patriots 131/9 in 20 overs (Gayle 24, Mahmudullah 22; Santokie 2/13, Wasim 2/21)

Watch Riyad’s innings here-

Jamaica Tallawahs won by 47 runs

Man of the Match: Kennar Lewis

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

CPL 2019 draft date announced: Record number of players to enter

Vijay Mallya to lose Barbados Tridents’ ownership

Archer to get his desired debut against Pakistan

Gayle extends T20 record in inaugural Mzansi Super League

Patriots eliminated Tallawahs from CPL 2018