Rangpur Riders end group stage as table toppers

Rangpur Riders trashed Comilla Victorians in their final game to finish at the top of the points table in the sixth edition of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL).

AB de Villiers. ©

After winning the toss, Comilla elected to bat first in a dead rubber game. The batsmen took the game way too lightly as wickets kept tumbling right from the word go. Tamim Iqbal was the first man to depart for a duck while out of form Anamul Haque scored 5.

Skipper Imrul Kayes departed for a golden duck and after the dismissal of Thisara Perera, Comilla found themselves in all sorts of trouble. With 23-5. Liam Dawson and Ziaur Rahman tried to repair things. Ziaur (21) was the highest scorer for Comilla and after his dismissal, the side knocked out for only 72 runs in the end.

In reply. Rangpur lost Mehedi Maruf early in an easy chase. But that was the only damage done by the Comilla bowlers. Chris Gayle, who was struggling to score runs played a steady unbeaten knock of 35* from 30. While AB de Villiers (34* off 22), played a superb innings yet again before leaving Bangladesh.

Also Read - India's Predicted Playing XI for the 5th ODI against New Zealand

With 9 wickets in hand and only 9.3 overs bowled, Rangpur finished things off to remain at the top of the table.

Brief score:

CV 72 (16.3 ov) | Ziaur 21 | Bopara 3/7, Nahidul 2/9
RR 76/1 (9.3 ov) | Gayle 35*, de Villiers 34* | Saha 1/32

Watch Rangpur Riders’s winning moments here-



RESULT: Rangpur Riders won by 9 wickets

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Four new team names of BPL 2019 announced

Famous bollywood superstars to perform at BPL 2019 opening ceremony

Bowlers with 140 kmph speed mandatory in upcoming BPL

Shakib’s price in Rangpur Riders revealed!

Wasim Jaffer reveals how he helped Soumya regain his confidence