Watch: Rishabh Pant’s bizarre mistake behind stumps gives Liton a lifeline
Bangladesh wicket-keeper batsman Liton Kumar Das has survived during the second T20 match between India and Bangladesh despite being out stumped because Rishabh Pant‘s process of stumping violated the cricket rules.
Rishabh Pant had been passing a hard time in his career currently. In the first T20 match in Delhi, he was criticized for tempting captain Rohit Sharma to take the wrong DRS.
He made another childish mistake in the second match at Rajkot on Thursday. Liton Das, who got out by stumping, saved from being out surprisingly because Pant took the ball from the front of the stump. Liton was expected to return to the dressing room when the scorecard was 43/0. Liton was stumped for his personal 17-run in Yuzvendra Chahal‘s leg spin to play a shot down the wicket.
It was the fifth over of the innings. Liton came a long way from the crease for playing the second delivery of the over of Yuzvendra Chahal. So naturally wicketkeeper Pant collected the ball and broke the stump with that ball.
Liton was also on his way to the dressing room. But the umpire asked him to stop. And in the replay, Pant’s mistake was seen clearly that he took the ball before the stump. And so Liton was declared not out by the third umpire.
But Liton could not able to make the innings longer. He got out scoring 29 runs by run-out in a misunderstanding with the other opener Mohammad Naim. At the time of writing this report, Bangladesh scored 112 runs with the loss of four wickets in 15 overs.
Watch Rishabh Pant’s mistake here-
— Nishant Barai (@barainishant) November 7, 2019