Watch: Rohit bowls medium pace after Saini’s injury in Brisbane

Team India are going through their worst injury crisis after a long time. The fourth and final Test match is currently being played in Brisbane at The Gabba. Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Hanuma Vihari, Jasprit Bumrah who played the last Test match at the SCG are out of the fourth Test.

Watch: Rohit bowls medium pace after Saini's injury in Brisbane

Ravi Ashwin who battled through injury in the SCG Test is sitting at the bench. India’s ace fast bowler Bumrah sustained an abdominal strain during the third Test. He is also not playing the fourth Test as he is sitting at the bench.

Also Read - Saini taken for scans after suffering with groin pain

Jadeja has been ruled out of the Border Gavaskar Trophy series with a fractured thumb. Vihari has been ruled out of the Brisbane Test with a hamstring tear. Team India are currently playing with inexperienced bowlers.

Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur and T Natarajan made their dream debuts at The Gabba. Tamil Nadu pacer Natarajan became the first Indian cricketer to make a debut in all three formats of the same tour.

Mohammed Siraj provided a dream start to the game by getting rid of David Warner early on in the game. Natarajan had a dream debut as he took 2 wickets to his name. Initially, he got rid of Matthew Wade (45). After that, he took the prized wicket of Marnus Labuschagne who departed for a well-made 108.

Apart from Natarajan, Sundar and Thakur also had a good day at the office. They picked up a wicket each.

Rohit Sharma bowls medium pace

During the game, fast bowler Navdeep Saini sustained a groin injury. He looked good after bowling 7 overs. However, after bowling the 5th ball during his 8th over, he didn’t look comfortable at all. He walked off the pitch and there was one ball remaining in his over.

India’s Test vice-captain Rohit completed the over by bowling medium pace and the video of the same has gone viral on social media. Rohit is usually an off-spinner and we have seen in bowling spin before. He holds the record of claiming a hat-trick for Deccan Chargers in 2008 IPL season.

However, quite interestingly, he bowled medium pace to Marnus Labuschagne. Rohit has taken 2 wickets in his Test career. There is still no further update on Saini’s recovery.

Watch the video below:

India Squad


Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (c), Mayank Agarwal, Rishabh Pant (wk), Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Navdeep Saini, Mohammed Siraj, T Natarajan


Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Wriddhiman Saha, Kuldeep Yadav, Prithvi Shaw

Australia Squad


David Warner, Marcus Harris, Marnus Labuschagne, Steven Smith, Matthew Wade, Cameron Green, Tim Paine (c & wk), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood


Moises Henriques, Travis Head, Michael Neser, Sean Abbott, Mitchell Swepson, James Pattinson

Related Articles

New Zealand-Australia Auckland fixture shifted

Road to Lord’s 2021: As it stands now

Kiwis beat Aussies in a match of raining sixes

Starc’s father passed away after battling cancer

Warner takes a swipe at Maxwell’s IPL contract