Watch: Russell’s 111 metres long monster six

With the monstrous batting display of Liton Das and a superb bowling effort from the bowlers, Bangladesh have won the third T20I and the series 2-1 in Florida.

After winning the toss, Bangladesh elected to bat first and openers Tamim Iqbal and Liton Das started with all guns blazing. The team reached fifty in under 4 overs. Tamim (21) departed after a short cameo, but Liton kept hitting the bowlers all over the park.

With 6 fours and 3 sixes, Liton’s innings ended with 61 off just 32 balls. A cameo from Mahmudullah (32*) in the end provided Bangladesh to a strong total of 184 runs in their 20 overs.

Also Read - Bangladesh eclipse the World Champions

In reply, Windies lost early wickets and kept struggling to deal with the required run rate. Mustafizur Rahman removed out of form Andre Fletcher for just 6 runs. Nazmul Hasan injured his finer while bowling his first over and he had to left the field.

But it somehow proved to a blessing in disguise for Bangladesh as Soumya Sarkar bowled the rest of the over left and got the wicket of Chadwick Walton.

Windies kept losing wickets in the middle overs and things started to become complicated for the Caribbeans. Then came Andre Russell and gave some serious hopes. Just after the arrival, Russell hit the bowlers all over the park with some massive sixes .

The innings ended with 47 runs off just 21 balls. When things were looking like to drift away from Bangladesh, Mustafizur came in to bowl the last over and got the wicket of Russell before rain again interrupted the play.

Watch Russell’s 111 metres six here-

The game wasn’t possible to resume again, but Bangladesh were well ahead on D/L method and in the end they won the match by 19 runs.


Brief score:

BAN 184//5 (20 ov) | Liton 61 , Mahmudullah 32* | K Paul 2/26
WI 135/7 (17.1 ov) | Russell 47 | Mustafizur 3/31, Rony 1/27

Result: Bangladesh won by 19 runs. (DL method)

Related Articles

Rony added to squad for Afghanistan match

Rubel and co dedicate song to late Ayub Bachchu

15-man Bangladesh squad announced for Zimbabwe series

Abu Hider penalized for using ‘gross language’

Difference lies in the ability of handling everything: Mashrafe