AB de Villiers joins Rangpur Riders

The upcoming Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) is set to feature big International players who will be playing their first BPL season. After David Warner signed with Sylhet Sixers, its now former South Africa captain AB de Villiers who will be playing his first BPL season with Rangpur Riders. [নিউজটি বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ রংপুর রাইডার্সে নাম লেখালেন ডি ভিলিয়ার্স]

Chris Gayle with AB de Villiers during IPL

Defending champions Rangpur Riders are loading themselves with heavy guns to defend their title. The team have already retained English opener Alex Hales and destructive batsman Chris Gayle.

AB de Villiers announced his arrival through a message which the franchise Rangpur Riders posted it on their official facebook page.

Also Read - Dhoni excluded after approval from Kohli and Rohit

de Villiers said:

Hello Bangladesh, it’s AB de Villiers in South Africa. I am very delighted to confirm that I will be coming to Bangladesh in 2019 to play in the Bangladesh Premier League. I will be joining forces with the Rangpur Riders. I’ve got a great leader in Mash and also a true legend of the game Chris Gayle,”

“I have been watching the BPL which is turning out to one of the greatest tournaments around the world over the last few years and I can’t wait to take part in the tournament. See you soon Rangpur and Bangladesh. Joyer Lorai!” 

For the other teams, the recent signings include David Warner to Sylhet Sixers, Andre Russell to Dhaka Dynamites. Dhaka have also picked Afghanistan batsman Hazratullah Zazai who recently hit six sixes in an over in the Afghanistan Premier League (APL). Sylhet also bought the Nepal leg-spinner Sandeep Lamicchanne who is ruling all over in the T20 leagues.

Each team has six players in their squad ahead of the draft. In all, each team can sign a maximum of 12 local and 9 overseas players. Every side must include four overseas players in their playing XI this season. In the draft, the A+ category (USD 200,000) will include Shahid Afridi, Imran Tahir and Evin Lewis, while category A (USD 150,000) will include Mohammad Hafeez, Faheem Ashraf, Thisara Perera, Lasith Malinga and Darren Bravo.

The sixth edition of Bangladesh Premier League is set to kick off on 5th January.


Retained and signed players of BPL teams before BPL players draft:

Dhaka Dynamites: Shakib Al Hasan, Sunil Narine, Rovman Powell, Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell and Hazratullah Zazai

Chittagong Vikings: Sikandar Raza, Luke Ronchi, Najibullah Zadran, Sunzamul Islam, Mohammad Shahzad and Robbie Frylinck

Khulna Titans: Mahmudullah Riyad, Ariful Haque, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Carlos Brathwaite, Dawid Malan and Ali Khan

Rangpur Riders: Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, Nazmul Islam, Mohammad Mithun, Chris Gayle, AB de Villiers and Alex Hales

Comilla Victorians: Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Mohammad Saifuddin, Shoaib Malik, Asela Gunaratne and Liam Dawson

Sylhet Sixers: Nasir Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Liton Das, Sohail Tanvir, David Warner and Sandeep Lamichhane

Rajshahi Kings: Mominul Haque, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Zakir Hasan, Qais Ahmed and Christiaan Jonker

Watch the video message of AB De Villiers here-


Like and Share the news if you liked it.
Tweet 20

Related Articles

Styris names the best white-ball XI he has played against in his career

AB de Villiers in full contention to play T20I World Cup this year

IPL 2020: Royal Challengers Bangalore launch new jersey, logo

Yuvraj names three players who can score 200 in T20 cricket

Kohli reacts to AB de Villiers’ 37-ball-71 against Stars