Watch: Umpire counting DRS time ahead of Bangladesh skipper

Bangladesh were fortunate to avoid a waste of Decision Review System on a clear bat flick as the umpire denied them to appeal, as time ended up for appealing.

Umpire Saved a DRS for Bangladesh

India are taking on Bangladesh after a defeat against England on Sunday at the same venue. India won the toss and elected to bat first. India had two changes as Dinesh Karthik and Bhuvneshwar Kumar came into the side.

Also Read - Fizz 5-fer leaves India 314/9

India off to a terrific start from the contributions from their openers as Rohit Sharma brought up yet another century and KL Rahul scored his second half-century of the tournament. In the end, Bangladesh did a decent job to restrict the total for 314/9.

Soumya Sarkar was the one who created the first breakthrough for Bangladesh with the wicket of Rohit Sharma. He kept bowling a decent spell and during the 36th over bowled by him, Bangladesh escaped from losing a DRS for an lbw appeal which had a clear knick on the bat of Virat Kohli.

Kohli managed the full-length delivery for a flick and the sound of the bat was heard clearly. However, the bowler suggested the skipper Mortaza to go for a DRS. By the time Mortaza understood the situation and decided to check his luck with umpire Marais Erasmus, India had already completed two runs.

Much to Bangladesh’s dismay, the umpire also told the Bangladesh skipper that the time was up and he couldn’t go upstairs. Although Mortaza went back to his fielding position disappointed, the on-screen replay must have made him happy as it was clearly from the bat first and Bangladesh would have lost their review.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.
Tweet 20

Related Articles

Former BCB secretary passes away

Nixon refuses Bangladesh HP coach offer, Champaka appointment looms

Rubel Hossain says, greedy businessmen are real virus of the country

Bangladesh tour of Ireland postpone due to coronavirus

Sanjay Bangar refuses BCB’s coaching offer