WC 2019 final overthrow incident to be reviewed next month
It has been a month since England became the World Cup 2019 champions but the unforgettable World Cup final overthrow incident is the still the talking point even today.
However, in the latest development, the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) has now announced that the controversial overthrow incident involving Ben Stokes and Martin Guptill in the World Cup final will be reviewed in September 2019.
“The WCC (World Cricket Committee) discussed Law 19.8 in relation to overthrows, in the context of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Final. WCC felt that the Law was clear but the matter will be reviewed by the laws sub-committee in September 2019,” the MCC clarified in an official statement.
England created history as it claimed its first-ever World Cup title on July 14 by getting the better of New Zealand. The final will be remembered for a long time as it did not have a winner even after the 50-over and super over action, as both teams were tied. The winner was decided on the basis of boundary count rule.
In the end, England were declared the winner as they had smashed more boundaries (26) as compared to New Zealand (17) in the thriller.
New Zealand set a target of 242 for England. The hosts needed nine runs off three balls and all-rounder Ben Stokes smashed the ball into the deep region with an aim to complete a double.
Seeing this, New Zealand’s Martin Guptill responded pretty well as he threw the ball in an attempt to run out Ben Stokes but in an unexpected turn of events, the ball bounced off Stokes’ bat and reached the boundary.
Due to this overthrow, England were awarded six runs, means two runs for a double and four for an overthrow.
Simon Taufel, who had umpired during the 2011 World Cup final hit the headlines after the controversial incident confirmed that the officiating umpires Kumar Dharmasena and Marais Erasmus made a terrible mistake.
“There was a judgment error on the overthrow. The judgment error was the timing of when the fielder threw the ball. The act of the overthrow starts when the fielder releases the ball. That’s the act. It becomes an overthrow from the instant of the throw,” Taufel had said.
Law 19.8 related to an “overthrow or wilful act of fielder”, describes: “If the boundary results from an overthrow or from the willful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be any runs for penalties awarded to either side, and the allowance for the boundary, and the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had already crossed at the instant of the throw or act.”
Nonetheless, the retired Australian umpire also defended the officiating umpires, adding that they have to consider a certain number of things while examining every ball.
“In this particular case, the umpires have got a lot on their plate, because like every ball, they’ve had to watch the batsmen complete the first run, they’ve had to watch the ball being fielded, to understand how it’s in play, whether the fielder’s done the right thing.
Then they’ve got to look to see when the ball is released, in case there is an overthrow. And that happens every delivery of the game. And then they’ve got to back to see where the two batsmen are,” he had said.
Taufel had said that there was a judgment of error as Stokes and Adil Rashid had not crossed for the second run and even the TV replays on the large screen showed that the England batsmen had not crossed at the time of Guptill’s throw, which means five runs should have been awarded to England and Stokes should have been at the non-striker’s end for the very next ball.
“So it’s unfortunate that there was a judgment error on the timing of the release of the ball and where the batsmen were. They did not cross on their second run, at the instant of the throw. So given that scenario, five runs should have been the correct allocation of runs, and Ben Stokes should have been at the non-striker’s end for the next delivery,” he said.