West Indies announce T20I squad for India series

Kieron Pollard and Sunil Narine made a comeback to the West Indies side as selectors announced a 14-man squad on Monday for the first two T20Is against India starting in Florida on August 3.

West Indies announce T20I squad for India series
Kieron Pollard makes a comeback.

Narine last played a T20I for West Indies in 2016 against England.

Meanwhile megastar Chris Gayle made himself unavailable for this particular series aiming to play in the Global T20 League in Canada.

Also Read - Warne picks his England team for first Ashes Test

All-rounder Andre Russell, who was forced out of ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 due to knee injury, has also made a comeback into the squad.

The media release from Windies Cricket revealed the wicket-keeper batsman Anthony Bramble as the only newcomer in the squad.

Interim chairman of the CWI Selection Panel Robert Haynes said,

“This squad is an excellent balance of experience and youth.”

“It’s not just about the present – the India Tour of the West Indies – but we are also looking at the T20 World Cup coming up next year and it is important that we find the right combination of players and the right formula for defending our title,”

“We have to make sure that we put certain things in place now, so that when it comes to picking the squad for the T20 World Cup, it becomes easier, so we are giving more players the opportunity to play and get the exposure,” he said.

West Indies Squad for 1st and 2nd T20Is

John Campbell, Evin Lewis, Shimron Hetmyer, Nicolas Pooran, Kieron Pollard, Rovman Powell, Carlos Brathwaite (c), Keemo Paul, Sunil Narine, Sheldon Cottrell, Oshane Thomas, Anthony Bramble, Andre Russell, Khary Pierre.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Test cricket is the ultimate: Gayle

Gayle to miss CPL 2020

Gayle cried in Sachin’s farewell match

Dhawal Kulkarni reveals current best IPL XI

Without diversity, cricket is nothing, ICC on racism after Floyd’s death