Will Dinesh Karthik replace Dhoni in the 2nd T20I?

The Tamil Nadu wicket-keeper, Dinesh Karthik was seen doing keeping drills at the Village, Dublin. According to the reports, Karthik will replace Ms Dhoni in the 2nd T20 International against Ireland.

In the first T20 International game against Ireland on Wednesday, Virat Kohli stunned everyone as both KL Rahul and Dinesh Karthik were not a part of the playing XI. The skipper gave a chance to Manish Pandey, who struggled to score runs for Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL 2018.

International Cricket, News, Dinesh Karthik Wriddhiman Saha, India, Afghanistan
Photo – Twitter

According to Virat Kohli’s statement after the 1st T20I, Dinesh Karthik may replace Ms Dhoni in the 2nd T20I game. “Look, we’ve already announced we will experiment with the middle order a lot. Even in the next few T20 games, even in England, we will look to throw in guys and surprise the opposition,” Kohli said.

Also Read - Tamim, Mahmudullah tons headline warm-up

“In the next games, we will play the guys who didn’t play today. We’re going to give everyone a go in this series. The management and me as captain decided it. There’re no mysteries and looking everyone to give game time,” he added.

The former Indian skipper Ms Dhoni had to smash at every ball. He hit a boundary towards the square and a huge six over bowler’s head. However, he got out on the second ball of the last over.


At the same time, Dinesh Karthik deserved a place in the national team. In the Nidahas Trophy final against Bangladesh, he plundered 29 off just 8 deliveries and smashed a six off the last ball to seal the match. He continued the same form in the Indian Premier League 2018 for Kolkata Knight Riders. Dinesh Karthik will look to continue his golden form in the England tour.

Related Articles

Asia Cup 2018: Team India Players to Leave for UAE in Two Group

Five players who might have last Asia Cup

Five Indian Players to watch out for in the test series.

Dinesh Karthik looks promising in the warm up game

SRH versus KKR: Who to go through to the final of IPL-11