William Porterfield becomes first Irish Test captain

On Friday, Cricket Ireland (CI) has announced the squad for their maiden Test match. The fourteen member squad will be led by William Porterfield. Ireland will face Pakistan in the historic first Test match, scheduled to start from May 11.


Also Read - Malinga rejects returning in country for IPL responsibility

Last year, in a full board meeting in London, International Cricket Council approved full membership to Afghanistan and Ireland.

O’Brien brothers along with senior cricketer Boyd Rankin have made their way through the first Test squad.

Cricket Ireland CEO Warren Deutrom, had expressed his delight saying, “We are delighted and proud with today’s historic announcement. It is an extraordinary testament to the talent and endeavor of thousands of passionate players, coaches, volunteers, staff, clubs and committee people.”

“We would like to thank most sincerely the ICC and its members for bestowing this honor on us today. It is a reflection not just of our past achievements but of our potential to grow our great game. We shall spend the next 24 hours marking the moment and celebrating this great day for Irish cricket and next week the hard work of planning to transition to full membership and Test status begins in earnest,” he said.

Ireland Squad for maiden Test: William Porterfield (c), Andrew Balbirnie, Ed Joyce, Tyrone Kane, Andy McBrine, Tim Murtagh, Kevin O’Brien, Niall O’Brien, Boyd Rankin, Nathan Smith, Paul Stirling, James Shannon, Stuart Thompson, Gary Wilson.

Related Articles

3 Occasions when Ireland defeated big teams