Williams, Cottrell added to Rangpur

Rangpur Riders have made changes to their squad ahead of Bangladesh Premier League 2019. They have brought Sean Williams and Sheldon Cottrell in. [Read in Bangla: রংপুর রাইডার্সে যোগ দিল আরও দুই বিদেশি ক্রিকেটার]

Williams' hundred gave Zimbabwe a fighting total
Williams celebrates his hundred against Bangladesh


West Indian fast bowler Oshane Thomas, who was picked at the draft, will not be featuring for the Riders as Cricket West Indies (CWI) did not provide him NOC (No Objection Certificate) to play in the league.

The defending champions have decided to go for Zimbabwean all-rounder Williams and Windies’s left-arm seamer Cottrell. Rangpur Riders CEO Ishtiaque Ahmed confirmed the change to

Also Read - Mickey Arthur receives demerit point for breaching ICC Conduct

Williams recently played in the Mzansi Super League T20 for Tshwane Spartans where he had AB de Villiers as teammate. de Villiers earlier signed to Riders ahead of the players draft.

Williams was productive for Zimbabwe in their tour to Bangladesh this year. He scored a hundred in the third ODI in Chattogram and then 88 in the first innings of the first Test which Zimbabwe won in Sylhet.

Cottrell also had a good tour of Bangladesh for Windies. He took seven wickets in the three-match T20I series. He knocked out Bangladesh with his bounce as be bagged 4/28 in the first T20I in Sylhet.

Cottrell will play his first BPL. ©Getty Images


The tall 29-year-old seamer is a handful bowler in T20s. He has 91 wickets at an average of 18.40 in 63 T20 matches.

Rangpur Riders squad: Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, Nazmul Islam, Mohammad Mithun, Chris Gayle, Alex Hales, AB de Villliers, Shafiul Islam, Sohag Gazi, Farhad Reza, Mehedi Maruf, Ravi Bopara, Rilee Rossouw, Nahidul Islam, Nadif Chowdhury, Abul Hasan, Fardin Hossain, Benny Howell, Sean Williams, Sheldon Cottrell

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Morgan set for BPL debut

Ian Pont remarks proud statement about Anamul Haque Bijoy

Archer to get his desired debut against Pakistan

Watch: Tamim scores 22 runs in Andre Russell’s one over

Comilla crowned two-time champions