Score

World Cup trophy could have been shared: Dav Whatmore


Just like most of the cricket experts including the former cricketers, former Bangladesh coach Dav Whatmore thinks the trophy could have been shared.

The trophy should have been shared
After the 50-over tie, even a super over couldn’t decide a winner between England and New Zealand in an epic final at The Lords. But in the end, the hosts lifted their World Cup for the very first time as per rules, they were named as the winner because they hit more boundaries in the 50-over game.

Meanwhile, former Bangladesh coach Dav Whatmore thinks the trophy could have been shared as there was no winner.

Also Read - Is it right time for MS Dhoni to hang his ODI shoes?


“There was no winner, so the trophy could have been shared. It would have been a fair reflection of both teams’ tenacity to win the Cup. It is a learning curve. These sort of things could have been handled better, may be have a re-match, I don’t know. Before the sides came to the tournament, they knew about it and that is the bottom line,” he said.

Whatmore also questioned about the rule that decided the winner in the end.

“I wonder how many people knew about it at that time. Umpires are humans as well. One would argue the same point for other instances which happened in the past. It is unfortunate, it has happened. After two ties, there was not really a winner. But under the rules which the teams have signed on, it has got to go to England.”

The former also admitted that he didn’t even know the boundary rule.

“I thought it was very good, it lived up to expectations. Unfortunate that they had a couple of injuries. The no. 4 position kept sticking up, asking for a better solution. India over the course of the tournament did a very good job, unfortunately the first 10 overs of the semi-final against New Zealand proved very costly,” he concluded.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Dav Whatmore to return coaching Sri Lankans ?

“I developed as a batsman under Siddons,” says Tamim

Aftab misses playing T20 cricket

Former Bangladesh coach Whatmore now to work in Kerala

IPL is a revelation, says Whatmore