Yuvraj Singh picked in Punjab squad for Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018-19

The Indian all-rounder Yuvraj Singh has been selected in his state Punjab’s Vijay Hazare Trophy squad for the upcoming season of the tournament. His inclusion was a mere formality because last time around he was the skipper of the side. However this time, right-handed batsman Mandeep Singh has been chosen to lead the side instead of an experienced Yuvi.

Yuvraj Singh

The interesting news over here is Yuvraj has not even been named the vice-captain of his side. That post is gone for all-rounder Gurkeerat Mann Singh. On 19th of September, Punjab will play its first match of the tournament when they will face Himachal Pradesh. There are young faces also in the squad like Shubman Gill, Arshdeep Singh, and Abhishek Sharma. All these three won the Under-19 World Cup this year.

Gill is a well-known face in the Indian circuit nowadays as he has featured for the India A side as well as Kolkata Knight Riders in the Indian Premier League. Abhishek Sharma also represented Delhi Daredevils in the IPL and showcased his power hitting at the back end of the innings. Akshdeep is yet to play any type of domestic match.

Also Read - Live: India vs Hong Kong, Match 4, Asia Cup 2018

This will be a huge series for Yuvraj because if he anyhow wants to get recognised by the national selection committee then he must perform in an extraordinary way to stand out in this competition. He last played for India more than a year ago. He is almost 37 years old right now and his one last dream in his glittering cricketing career is to represent India in next year’s Cricket World Cup which is going to take place in England and Wales.

Punjab’s full tournament schedule is as follows:

Himachal Pradesh (September 19),
Vidarbha (September 21),
Maharashtra (Sept 23),
Baroda (Sept 24),
Mumbai (Sept 28),
Railways (October 2),
Goa (Oct 4),
Karnataka (Oct 8).

Punjab full Squad:

Mandeep Singh (captain), Gurkeerat Singh Mann (vice-captain), Gitansh Khera (wicket-keeper), Shubman Gill, Anmolpreet Singh, Manan Vohra, Yuvraj Singh, Sharad Lumba, Sanvir Singh, Mayank Markande, Arshdeep Singh, Arpit Pannu, Abhishek Sharma, Siddharth Kaul, Manpreet Singh Grewal, and Barinder Singh Sran

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Dhoni to play knockouts of Vijay Hazare Trophy

Murali Vijay and Washington Sundar return to Tamil Nadu squad