AB de Villiers becomes second foreign player to enter 4 thousands runs elite club

Veteran Royal Challengers Bangalore batsman AB de Villiers continues his domination in Indian premier League (IPL) as he entered the 4 thousands runs elite club by his destructive innings against Mumbai Indians. He become the sixth batsman to shore 4500 runs in the history of IPL. Before him only six batsmen could touch the feat.

AB de Villiers becomes second foreign player to enter 4k runs elite club

Although, RCB hadn’t sweet time all the way from the beginning, but Villiers’ bat continued to shine as after scoring 51 off 30 balls in the first match against Sunrisers, he flared up once again in the third match against Mumbai Indians as he Played an unbeaten innings of 55 off just 24 balls.

Also Read - Kohli enters elite club along with Dhoni and Gambhir

With the innings of AB, RCB crossed the 200-run mark and AB completed 4,500 runs in the IPL history. Before him, only Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan and David Warner entered the elite club. The Proteas batsman reached this milestone as the second foreign batsman after Aussie batsman David Warner.

After starting his IPL career for the Delhi Daredevils in 2008, he joined the Royal Challengers Bangalore instead in 2011. Despite a successful nine seasons in the RCB world, he failed to end the trophy drought. However, AB D has the first two highest run partnership in the IPL with Virat Kohli in addition to multiple personal records.

Although, Villiers couldn’t help to mitigate the Winning trophy , but with his heroics , RCB has touched various feats. Meanwhile, 2016 has been the most successful season for De Villiers. In that season, 687 runs came from the bat of the former Proteas captain. But unfortunately, RCB ended up loosing the final.

Related Articles

Brian Lara picks his 5 best batsmen of this generation

Mark Boucher opens up on AB de Villiers’ future

Kohli, de Villiers, Stokes send special gift to Bell’s son

Nehra picks his best XI of IPL 2020

Kieron Pollard to lead Irfan Pathan’s IPL 2020 Team of the Tournament