Asia Cup 2018: Bangladesh, Sri Lanka in same group

The upcoming Asia Cup which was scheduled to be played in India, has been moved to United Arab Emirates due to Pakistan’s refusal to play in India. The Executive Board of the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) announced on Tuesday.

Six teams India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan and the winner of the Asia Cup qualifier will participate in this year’s Asia Cup. The qualifier will be determined among UAE, Hong Kong, Nepal and Oman, which will be decided via a playoff. Asia Cup 2018: Bangladesh, Sri Lanka in same group

Meanwhile, the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) also announced a drafted schedule ahead of the tournament and according to that Asia Cup 2018 will be held in Abu Dhabi and Dubai between September 13 and 28. Bangladesh are in the Group B where they will compete with Sri Lanka and Afghanistan while there will India-Pakistan clash in group A. Another team of tjr group will join from playoff.

Also Read - Royals beat Daredevils in a rain-effected encounter

To be noted, although the previous edition of the Asia Cup was played in Twenty20 format, the upcoming edition will be held in a 50-overs format.

Group Stage

Sept 18: Pakistan vs Qualifier

Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka

Sept 19: India vs Qualifier

Sept 20: Afghanistan vs Sri Lanka

Sept 21: India vs Pakistan

Bangladesh vs Afghanistan

Super 4 Round

Sept 23: 1st Group A vs 2nd Group B

Sept 24: 1st Group B vs 2nd Group A

Sept 25: 2nd Group A vs 2nd Group B

Sept 26: 1st Group A vs 1st Group B

Sept 27: 1st Group A vs 2nd Group A

Sept 28: 1st Group B vs 2nd Group B

Sept 30: Final

Related Articles

Watch MS Dhoni does two blistering stumpings vs Afghanistan

Live: India vs Afghanistan, Super Four Match 5, Asia Cup 2018

Afghanistan looking for a happy ending in a dead rubber

Photo Finish Win Against Afghanistan Keeps Bangladesh Alive

‘Rashid is best but not unplayable’ says Mahmudullah