Australia cricket awards: Pat Cummins bags Allan Border Medal

The 2019 Australia cricket awards ceremony were held on Monday in Melbourne n recognition of his success over the past 12 months.

The ceremony held without the presence of suspended duo David Warner and Steve Smith. They were also not nominated for any words.

Fast bowler Pat Cummins became the youngest Australia (25 years) to win the Allan Border Medal. Courtesy of some magnificent performances throughout the year, Cummins bagged  156 votes across Tests, ODIs and T20Is from his team-mates as well as umpires and media members. He got 6 votes more than off-spinner Nathan Lyon.

Lyon test player of the year
However, Lyon didn’t go empty-handed as he became Australia’s Test player of the year. He has become the first Australian finger spinner to win the award. He bagged a combined total of 25 votes from his team-mates and umpires/media representatives to beat Pat Cummins (22 votes), Usman Khawaja (17) and Tim Paine (nine).

Also Read - Kuldeep moves to 2nd spot in ICC T20 rankings

Meanwhile, all-rounder Marcus Stoinis has been named as the ODI player of the year. He is also the first seam-bowling allrounder to win the men’s ODI title since Shane Watson did so from 2010-2012. Stoinis got 30 votes to be named Australia’s ODI Player of the Year over Finch (22 votes), Marsh (18) and Travis Head (14).

Stoinis ODI player of the year
Wicket-keeper batsman Matthew Wade became the domestic player of the year for his consistent performance in this arena. Wade scored 1509 runs across three formats for an average of 45.73 with five hundreds. He was also the highest run-getter of the Sheffield Shield with 571 at an average of 63.44.

While for the Australia Women’s cricket, Alyssa Healy fetched three prizes at the annual Australian Cricket Awards. he was named d women’s ODI Player of the Year and T20I Player of the Year.


Male One-Day International Player of the Year: Marcus Stoinis

Female One Day International Player of the Year: Alyssa Healy

Betty Wilson Young Cricketer of the Year: Georgia Wareham

Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year: Will Pucovski

Male Test Player of the Year: Nathan Lyon

Community Champion Award: Moises Henriques

Female Domestic Player of the Year: Heather Graham

Male Domestic Player of the Year: Matthew Wade

Female Twenty20 International Player of the Year: Alyssa Healy

Male Twenty20 International Player of the Year: Glenn Maxwell

Belinda Clark Award: Alyssa Healy

Allan Border Medal: Pat Cummins

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Virat Kohli becomes fastest captain to score 11,000 international runs

Virat Kohli becomes first Indian to score 5000 runs as Test skipper

Steve Smith can be compared to Don Bradman, says Allan Border

Allan Border slams Australia

Virat Kohli becomes quickest captain to score 9000 international runs