Australia sweep series against New Zealand

Australia reigned in the Trans-Tasman combat sweeping comprehensive series win against New Zealand inside four days.

Nathan Lyon scalps 10 wickets in the match: Photo: Getty Images

In the third and final Test of the series, Kiwis were handed their worst defeat in 75 years as Australia secured 279 win at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

The Black Caps were dismissed for just 136 on Monday afternoon with Nathan Lyon secured his second fifer in the match.

Also Read - Anderson reacts to Bairstow's binocular's act

The 32-year old off spinner became more of a threat to the tourists than the first innings. He finished with a stand out figure of 5 for 50 in the second innings bowling 16.5 overs.

Accompanied with aggression of Mitchell Starc, New Zealand fall in disarray chasing an improbable target of 415 runs in the fourth innings.

The disarray started by Starc dismissing opener Tom Blundell as early as in the third over with just three runs on the board and from there on there was no coming back for New Zealand.

At 5-38, the Kiwis were in threat of submerging into their lowest score in Australian soil which was 76 at the Gabba in 2004.

All-rounder Colin de Grandhomme put a valiant effort rescuing the team from further embarrassment posting a half-century. His 52 off 68 helped New Zealand crossed passed hundred run mark.

The Black Caps’ late order collapsed to the end as soon as Lyon took the wicket of Grandhomme at 107. The last four wickets tumbled for 29 runs. Last man Matt Henry failed to come out to bat suffering a fractured thumb on day one.

Brief Scorecard: 

Australia 1st innings 454  (Marnus Labuschagne 215, Steve Smith 63, David Warner 45; Colin de Grandhomme 3-78, Neil Wagner 3-66) and 2nd innings 217-2 (David Warner 111*, Marnus Labuschagne 59, Joe Burns 40)

New Zealand 1st innings 251 (Tom Latham 49, Glenn Phillips 52; Nathan Lyon 5-68, Pat Cummins 3-44) and 2nd innings 136-9 (Colin de Grandhomme 52, Nathan Lyon 5-50, Mitchell Starc 3-25)

Result:  Australia won by 279 runs

Like and Share the news if you liked it.
Tweet 20

Related Articles

Warner shaves head for a noble reason, nominates team-mates including one Indian player

Shane Warne reveals his all-time Australia Test XI

Australia team-mates react hilariously to Fox Cricket’s predicted 2023 World Cup squad

Steve Smith’s two-year captaincy ban is over

Watch: Jadeja shares Khawaja’s run-out clip to raise lockdown awareness