Bangladesh announce squad for two-day practice match

Bangladesh have announced their team for two-day intra-squad practice match at Chilaw Marians Cricket Club Ground, Katunayake ahead of the two-match Test series against Sri Lanka.

Bangladesh announce squad for two-day practice match

The 21-member squad has been divided into two groups. The teams are named as Team Red and Team Green. Tamim Iqbal will lead the Team Red while Mominul Haque will lead Team Green.

Also Read - Spectators barred, media persons allowed in SL vs BAN Test series

The Tigers landed in Sri Lanka on April 12, and were sent to three-day hotel quarantine before they could start ‘quarantine’ practice. All the touring members returned negative for coronavirus on arrival.

Bangladesh had skill training on Thursday and Friday. After the practice match, the 21-member squad will be cut down for a final squad.

The series begins on April 21, with the second Test to follow on April 29. Pallekele International Stadium will host the two matches.

Hosts Sri Lanka are also yet to name their squad for the last World Test Championship league stage series.

Teams for two-day (17-18 April) inter-squad practice match:

Team Red: Tamim Iqbal (Captain), Saif Hassan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Abu Jayed Chowdhury Rahi, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Support Staff.

Team Green: Shadman Islam, Liton Das, Mominul Haque (Captain), Mohammad Mithun, Yasir Ali, Shuvagata Hom, Nayeem Hasan, Shoriful Islam, Ebadot Hossain, Shohidul Islam, Mukidul Islam.

Hours of play:

10:00-12:00 1st session

12:00-12:40 Lunch

12:40-2:40 2nd session

2:40-3:00 Tea

3:00-5:00 Final session

Related Articles

Jayawickrama breaks into top 50 in ICC Test rankings

Just because we lost the series doesn’t mean we lost everything: Mominul

Mominul thinks toss was the key for their woeful loss

Jayawickrama, Mendis headline day four as Sri Lanka close in on victory

Bangladesh lose 3 wickets early in stiff chase