BCB announces 27 members squad for Sri Lanka tour

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has announced a 27 members squad for Sri Lanka tour. Bangladesh will play a three match test series against Sri Lanka in October as part of Test Championship. Mahmulallah Riyad and Mustafizur Rahman along with many young cricketers have been called for the squad.

BCB keen to provide scope to the players to prove themselves

Although , the board has approved a 27 membered squad , but the squad will be reduced to 20 before the start of the series. A final 17 members from these 20 cricketers will be selected for three match series and the rest of the cricketers will fly back to the country.

Also Read - South Africa government suspend Cricket South Africa

Before it , the authorities asked T20 skipper Riyadh and one of the country’s best fast bowlers, Mustafiz, to focus short format cricket as they failed to live up to expectations in the Tests. However, with the tour of Sri Lanka, the country’s top two cricketers may return to the Tests.

“Yes, Mahmudullah is there in the 27-member preliminary squad that we prepared for government order ahead of the upcoming tour of Sri Lanka,”

BCB chief selector Minhajul Abedin told Cricbuzz on Thursday (September 10). “This is just a preliminary squad and we are working on visas for all these players. But when we will get into the hotel for the residential camp ahead of the tour it will be shortened to 20 cricketers.

“We are keeping everyone in the preliminary squad because we have to keep some stand-by. Considering the present COVID situation, stand-by’s are very important so we decided to keep seven. We have picked nine pace bowlers in the preliminary squad but that does not mean we will pick all of them as six pace bowlers will travel with us in the 20-member squad. We’ll select the 17-member Test squad after going to Sri Lanka and we will send the other three cricketers back to Dhaka,” Abedin added.

Bangladesh preliminary squad: Mominul Haque (captain), Tamim Iqbal, Sadman Islam, Saif Hassan, Imrul Kayes, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Liton Das, Nazmul Hasan Shanto, Mossadek Hossain, Mahmudullah, Yasir Ali, Nurul Hasan, Mehedy Hasan Miraj, Taijul Islam, Sanjamul Islam, Naeem Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Al Amin Hossain, Saifuddin, Ebadat Hossain, Abu Jayed, Hasan Mahmud.

Related Articles

Dhaka sign new player before playoffs

Nayeem ruled out of Bangabandhu T20 Cup

Abu Jayed ruled out of Bangabandhu T20 Cup

Abu Jayed picks up injury in T20 Cup clash against Rajshahi

Chattogram register third straight win