Bushfire Cricket Bash – Teams, Time, Venue, Broadcast details

The Bushfire Cricket Bash is scheduled to be played at Melbourne’s Junction Oval on Sunday (February 9). Shane Warne, who was supposed to lead one team will not play the charity match due to prior commitments. Shane Warne’s absence gives Adam Gilchrist an opportunity to lead the side.

Bushfire Cricket Bash - Teams, Time, Venue, Broadcast details
Ricky Ponting and Adam Gilchrist will be leading the two teams.

Sachin Tendulkar will coach Ricky Ponting’s playing XI. Australia Test captain Tim Paine will coach Adam Gilchrist XI. Ricky Ponting was last seen on the field in 2015 for Shane Warne’s Warriors at Cricket All-Stars series in Los Angeles. He smashed an unbeaten 43 runs in 25 balls to help his team chase down the 220-run target set by Sachin Warriors XI.

Several cricketing greats pledged their support to the noble cause. Ricky Ponting, Adam Gilchrist, Brian Lara, Wasim Akram, Yuvraj Singh will play in the 10-over per side fundraising game.

Also Read - Archer's injury a blessing in disguise, believes Morgan

Talking about the match details, the game will have a five-over powerplay, no bowling restrictions, and batsmen unable to get out from the first ball they face. Bowlers will not have over limits and fielders can substitute on and off the field as it depends on the situation of the game, while captains will possess the command to substitute batsmen in and out during an innings.


Ponting XI:

Matthew Hayden, Justin Langer, Ricky Ponting (c), Elyse Villani, Brian Lara, Phoebe Litchfield, Brad Haddin (wk), Brett Lee, Wasim Akram, Dan Christian, Luke Hodge.

Coach: Sachin Tendulkar

Gilchrist XI:

Adam Gilchrist (c & wk), Shane Watson, Brad Hodge, Yuvraj Singh, Alex Blackwell, Andrew Symonds, Courtney Walsh, Nick Riewoldt, Peter Siddle, Fawad Ahmed, Cameron Smith.

Coach: Tim Paine

Match Timings

The match will kick-off at 4:15 AM GMT/ 3:15 PM AEDT/ 9:45 AM IST.

Broadcast details

Australia: Foxtel, Channel 7, Kayo Sports.

Free streaming via and the Cricket Australia Live app.

Radio coverage on ABC

India: Sony SIX, Sony TEN 1

Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Burma, Mauritius, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka: Sony Pictures Sports Network

The United Kingdom, Republic of Ireland, Channel Islands, the Isle of Man: BT Sport

New Zealand: SkyNZ

Canada: ATN

Australia:, Cricket Australia Live app, Facebook page

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

No Kohli, No Dhoni in Chawla’s all time best Test XI

Sarfaraz picks better glove-man between Gilchrist and Dhoni

Finch picks his combined India-Australia ODI XI; Rohit misses out

No Dhoni in Duminy’s nine overseas players’ all-time IPL XI

Sachin, Kohli, Akram named in Lord’s non-honour’s board XI