Chahar six-fer secure series for India

Deepak Chahar polarized the two competitive teams at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium in Nagpur with a superlative hat-trick and won the three match T20I series for India 2-1.


Chasing the victory target of 174, visiting Bangladesh were curtailed to 144 with four deliveries to spare.

Also Read - Sourav Ganguly to stay BCCI President for three years, not ten months

The contest was intense in the mid-section of the second innings when Mohammad Mithun and Mohammad Naim were batting in the middle. The duo was untroubled for valuable 98 runs following departure of two early wickets.

Both Liton Das and Soumya Sarkar lost their wickets at the team score of 12. Liton Das was the first to go picking up the short of length delivery and slotted towards deep mid-wicket. Washington Sundar runs towards deep square leg to take the catch.

Chahar claimed back to back wicket taking Soumya Sarkar in the next delivery. Sarkar made a first ball duck trying to loft over mid-off, he was caught by Shivam Dube.

Mohammad Naim devoted to the task, he was there till sixteenth over of the innings, scoring highest 81 runs. He faced just 48 balls slamming 10 shots of four and two sixes.

Apart from Mohammad Mithun who added second highest 27 runs, none of the Bangladesh batsmen could even reach into the double figure mark.

Deepak Chahar was at his prime touch, registering the best bowling figure in T20I cricket as he claimed a hat-trick in the ending phase of the game.

In the last ball of the eighteenth over, Chahar removed Shafiul Islam followed by the wicket of Mustafizur Rahman who was caught by Iyer in the first ball the last over.

Chahar finished things off uprooting the stumps of Aminul Islam, the 27-year old right arm fast medium pacer, at the end of the match, finished with a stand-out figure of 6 for 7.

Earlier, the match proceeding began with Mahmudullah Riyad winning the toss and opted to bowl first. Bangladesh initiated the task with great notion removing both Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan early in the innings.

But the good works of Bangladesh bowlers were ruined by Lokesh Rahul and Shreyas Iyer; both reaching into their respective half-centuries taking India to 174 for 6 in their 20 overs.

Iyer top scored with 62 while Rahul made 52. For Bangladesh, Soumya Sarkar and Shafiul Islam took 2 wickets each.

Brief Score:

India 174/5 in 20 overs

Shreyas Iyer 62, KL Rahul 52;

Soumya Sarkar 2-29

Bangladesh 144/10 in 19.2 overs

Mohammad Naim 81;

Deepak Chahar 6-7, Shivam Dube 3-30

Result: India won by 30 runs.

Toss: Bangladesh

Man of the Match: Deepak Chahar 

Related Articles

Ranjan Madugalle’s help sought to convince health ministry

Sri Lankan health ministry insists on a 14-day quarantine

BCB “willing to shorten” touring party

Mushfiqur meets viral kid Yeamin

Bangladesh HP tour to Sri Lanka likely to be called off