Cricket Ireland announces squad for England ODI and Tri-series

Ireland announced their squad for the one-off ODI fixture against England and for the first half of the matches of their tri-series involving Bangladesh and West Indies.

Cricket Ireland announces squad for England ODI and Tri-series
Ireland team players

The team will be captained by William Porterfield and the 14-member team includes two uncapped players namely Lorcan Tucker and Josh Little.

“We have been delighted to watch the continued improvement of Josh Little and Lorcan Tucker — both of whom will now be in the running to make their debuts in one-day international cricket; Andrew White, Ireland’s chair of national men’s selectors said in an official statement on Monday.

Also Read - After Kohli, it's KL Rahul who will serve Indian cricket for long - Chris Gayle

“Josh gives us that left-arm pace variation and he has continued to impress with some consistent performances — we believe he can transfer his T20 skills into the one-day arena,” he added.

Gary Wilson who did not take part in Afghanistan tour owing to medical issues, has now been called into the team. He has by far played 99 ODIs for Ireland.

Peter Chase dropped

Meanwhile, Peter Chase has been dropped from the squad after struggling to find his form in the T20Is and Afghanistan ODIs.

The spin duo- James Cameron-Dow and Simi Singh were also excluded from the squad as the pitch conditions are likely to give an edge to the seam bowlers.

“We have chosen what we believe to be a squad that blends experience and youth, as well as rewarding form and consistency over recent months. As a testament to the increasing depth of talent we have at present, there are numerous players who have been unfortunate to miss out on this squad,” White said.

Ireland will announce the squad for the next half of the Tri-series anytime soon.

Ireland’s 14-member team for England ODI and the first half of Tri-series:

William Porterfield (c), Andrew Balbirnie, George Dockrell, Josh Little, Andrew McBrine, Barry McCarthy, James McCollum, Tim Murtagh, Kevin O’Brien, Boyd Rankin, Paul Stirling, Stuart Thompson, Lorcan Tucker, Gary Wilson.

Ireland will play England in a one-off ODI fixture on May 3 and the tri-series- Ireland, Bangladesh and West Indies starts from May 5.

(With ANI inputs)

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Gulbadin Naib hits back at Mohammad Nabi

Live: Afghanistan opt to bat first

Preview: Bangladesh seek revenge over Afghanistan

All-round Afghanistan thump Zimbabwe

Rony added to squad for Afghanistan match