Cricket West Indies confirms dates of CPL 2019

Caribbean Premier League 2019 is planned to be played from August 21st to September 27th.

Trinbago Knight Riders successfully defend CPL title

Nowadays there is a craze for the T20 leagues among fans. IPL, BBL, BPL, CPL are the most famous one among cricket fans. Cricket West Indies has confirmed the time allocation for this year’s edition of Caribbean Premier League.

This year’s event will take place between August 21 and September 27. The opening round of matches will take place in Trinidad & Tobago and Guyana before returning to these two countries for the playoffs and finals once again.

Also Read - Watch: A young kid imitates Bumrah's bowling action

Speaking about the window for the tournament, Pete Russell, COO of Hero CPL, said: “We are very pleased to be playing our tournament in August and September for the third successive year and we have now agreed that this will be the time of year that CPL takes place for the next five seasons.

Fans now associate this time of year with Hero CPL and we have already started work on bringing the party to life in 2019. Having the best Caribbean cricketers and the world’s best overseas players is what our tournament is all about, and this window gives us that.” 

Johnny Grave, CEO of CWI, said: “The Hero CPL has developed into one of the best and most exciting T20 competitions in the world and we look forward to hosting another successful tournament later this year.  

We are pleased that we have been able to find a window in our WINDIES International calendar to ensure that all the best Caribbean cricketers can take part, as the tournament plays a crucial role in our preparations and planning for the T20 World Cup in 2020.”

Cricket West Indies has also confirmed that centrally contracted players of Windies will be available for the major part of the tournament. The tournament was started initially in 2013 and it will hit it’s successful 7th edition this year.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

CPL 2019 draft date announced: Record number of players to enter

Kieron Pollard returns home to the Trinbago Knight Riders in CPL 2019

Vijay Mallya to lose Barbados Tridents’ ownership