Dhaka Metro, Khulna and Rangpur win big in NCL


Dhaka Metropolis, thrashed Rajshahi Division by a large margin of 285 runs. Mehedi Maruf was named the Man of the Match due to his match winning maiden first-class century.
The match hosted at the BKSP-3 ground, also included Saikat Ali’s five-wicket haul in the second innings, which played a major role in restricting Rajshahi only to 174 on the first sesion of fourth day’s play. Earlier, Dhaka Metropolis made a modest total of 302 runs in the first innings, with the aid of Maruf Mehedi’s hundred, while Rajshahi’s Sanjamul Islam picked up four wickets. Dhaka Metro took an 84-run lead when Rajshahi were bowled out for 218 runs in theuir first innings. Junaid Siddique and Jubair Ahmed, both contributed to fifties, but were buffeted to the dressing room by Mohammad Shahid and Sharifullah respectively.
Dhaka Metro increased their lead to 459 runs with Mehrab Hossain junior’s hundred, which helped them score 375 runs in their 2nd innings. Rajshahi left-arm spinner Saqlain Sajib, stretched his super form from 2014 to 2015, by taking 6 for 120. However, it couldn’t help restrict the final target.
Saikat took the 5 scalps in total in the last innings, while Sharifullah ended the game with Farhad Hossain unbeaten on 85 off 125 balls.

In the other match at BKSP ground 2, Khulna Division declared their first innings with a majestic total of 536 for 8 on board, against Sylhet division. Tushar Imran remained unbeaten on 177 with his 16th first class century, while the young wicketkeeper Nurul Hasan made 115 runs, his third hundred in this format. Amit Majumder, Imrul Kayes and Mohammad Mithun all chipped in with fifties to help Khulna post such high total. Offspinner Sadiqur Rahman and legspinner Alok Kapali, both took three wickets each for Sylhet.
Sylhet’s batting, however was not competitive enough to trail down such a big first innings total, and got bowled out for 184 runs in 60.2 overs with left-arm spinner Murad Khan taking three wickets. On follow on, they were bowled out for 174 runs in 58.5 overs with Abdur Razzak taking 7 for 71, his 16th five-for in first-class cricket.

Also Read - Innovative training for Tigers

At the Fatullah Cricket Stadium, Rangpur Division defeated Chittagong Division by 225 runs.
Naeem Islam’s 14th first-class hundred and Suhrawardi Shuvo’s 62, dragged Rangpur to 269 runs in the first innings. Seamer Alauddin Babu took four wickets.
Chittagong, on reply were bowled out for 107 runs in 59.3 overs, Subashis Roy’s three wickets and Bishawanath Halder’s two.
Litton Das struck 150 in Rangpur’s second innings, his second first-class century, which helped the side hammer 257 for 5 in 49 overs, extending the lead to 419 runs.
In the fourth innings, Suhrawardi Shuvo took three wickets, while Sajedul Islam and Subashis Roy, took two each as Chittagong’s innings ended at 194 runs.

The second round of the National Cricket League is going to start from the first of February, with Dhaka, Khulna, Dhaka Metro and Rangpur, at the top in the points at the end of the first round.


Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Video: Kohli protects his fan from security personnel in Indore

Gavaskar, Gambhir hail Mohammed Shami as best Test bowler

India crush Bangladesh: How Twitterati reacts

Tigers Swept Over

India sweep away Bangladesh in innings defeat