DPL T20 to kick off after Sri Lanka ODIs

The Cricket Committee of Dhaka Metropolis (CCDM) has decided to hold the Bangabandhu Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League (DPL) from 31 May 2021 after the end of Bangladesh’s ODI series against Sri Lanka.

DPL 2019-20 to start from May 31 in T20 format

The 2019-20 season’s League was postponed on 19 March 2020 after just one completed round of matches in compliance with measures taken to fight the COVID-19 outbreak in the country. The competition will now have a fresh start and will be played in a T20 format instead of the usual 50 overs.

Also Read - Buttler ton leads Rajasthan to 55-run win against SRH

CCDM Chairman Kazi Inam Ahmed said: “The CCDM with the support of the BCB plan to organise the DPL  from May 31. As decided earlier it will be a T20 event. Considering the busy international schedule and the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup, we believe that T20 is the ideal format for the 2019-20 League.  

“The BCB President has given a clear direction on the importance of players’ safety during these times. The Board has successfully completed two tournaments this season and has hosted the West Indies in Bangladesh. We will draw from these learnings and make plans for the Bangabandhu DPL accordingly.  We know what this league means to the players and clubs and appreciate their support during the planning stage.”

Related Articles

Domingo to continue as Bangladesh head coach

Sri Lanka enter bio-bubble: players to begin training from Tuesday

SL returnees to join camp after returning COVID negative

Bangladesh-Sri Lanka ODI series could be delayed

Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka ODIs to begin on May 23