DPL T20 to kick off on May 6

Dhaka Premier League (DPL) is returning to field in the form of T20 cricket this summer.

DPL T20 to kick off on May 6

The regular List A format was called off after COVID outbreak in the country. Only one round of matches were possible before everything came to a standstill.

Also Read - West Indies whitewash Sri Lanka 3-0

Teams from last year will remain the same, and the first round will not be counted, meaning a new start this year.

“We have decided to resume DPL and the window starts from May 6. It’s a very tough situation as we have very limited time, around 15 days. We will try to get another three days of play. We have talked with all the clubs, and have agreed to continue the league in T20 format,” CCDM (Cricket Committee of Dhaka Metropolitan) chairman Kazi Inam Ahmed confirmed.

Three venues: Mirpur’s Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, BKSP 3 and 4 will host the tournament. Each match day will see six games played.

National team stars will be taking part this time, as they had last year.

“There was a window last year which is why national players could play. But they didn’t two years earlier. Unfortunately, we had no control over pandemic. There have to be some adjustments (over payment) done. Several national team players requested me to start the league anyhow. I want to thank all the clubs and players. We will come to a solution on payment,” Inam said.

The league will start after Bangladesh finish Sri Lanka Test tour on May 3. Sri Lanka will then arrive Bangladesh on the last week of May to play three ODIs.

Related Articles

WTC winners to receive $1.6M, Test Mace

Mushfiqur wins Player of the Month award

Cricket Australia sets three conditions to BCB

Bangladesh to tour Zimbabwe in three phases

Mushfiqur nominated for Player of the Month