Five Bangladeshis shortlisted for IPL auction

A total of 332 cricketers have been finalised to be called for bidding in the upcoming Indian Premier League T20 2020 edition’s  auction. Five men from Bangladesh have been kept in the list after franchises confirm the final list of players.

Mustafizur puts his name for his possible third IPL season.


Mustafizur Rahman, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Sabbir Rahman and Mohammad Saifuddin’s names will be called on December 19’s event which will be held in Kolkata.

Also Read - Video: Yusuf Pathan shows dissent to the umpire, Rahane interferes

Mustafizur has set his base price at 1 crore INR (approx. $141000), the highest among all Bangladeshis. Senior campaigners  Mushfiqur and Mahmudullah will start at 75 lakhs (approx. $106000)while late inclusions Sabbir and Saifuddin have set 50 lakhs (approx. $70700) as their base price.

Mustafizur represented Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2016 and 2017 before playing a few number of games for Mumbai Indians in 2018. He was ‘The Emerging Player of the Season’ in Hyderabad’s championship year 2016.

Initially Tamim Iqbal, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Soumya Sarkar and Taskin Ahmed put their names on auction in 971-player list which was then extended to 997.

From 146 overseas players, Australia’s Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Chris Lynn, Mitchell Marsh and Glenn Maxwell, Dale Steyn of South Africa and Sri Lanka’s Angelo Mathews have slotted their base price at maximum 2 crore INR (approx. $283000)

Ali Khan (USA), Zahoor Khan (UAE) and Goerge Munsey (Scotland) are only three players from associate membera to feature – all at a base price of 1 crore INR.

Robin Uthappa has the highest base price among Indians – 1.5 crore INR (approx. $212000).

The auction will begin at 3:30 IST (4:00 BDT) on December 19 (Thursday).

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

There’s 100 per cent rivalry! Aaron Finch on IND-AUS battle

When Finch asked advice to break Kohli-Rohit partnership: Umpire Michael recalls

Finch unhappy with recent remark by Clarke on Australian team

Finch picks his combined India-Australia ODI XI; Rohit misses out

Warner targets 2023 World Cup as ‘ultimate goal’