Four venues shortlisted for Lanka Premier League

Bipin Dani

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) board has shortlisted four venues for the Lanka Premier League (LPL) to be played for 23 days in August-September, it is learnt here.

Four venues shortlisted for Lanka Premier League

Also Read - Inaugural Lankan Premier League to kick-start on August 28

According to the sources in Colombo, the LPL this year will commence from August 28 and the final will be played on 20th September and most of the 23 matches will be played night.

The four venues finalized by the SLC are :

1. R. Premadasa Stadium (Colombo),

2. Pallekele International Cricket Stadium (Kandy),

3. Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium (Dambulla) and

4. Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium (Hambantota).

The venue for the final is not yet confirmed but it may be in Colombo.

The names of five participating teams are :

1. Colombo Super Kings,

2. Galle Lions,

3. Kandy Royals,

4. Jaffna Sunrisers, and

5. Dambulla Capitals.

Bids for the LPL will be opened on July 30, it is also learnt here.

Related Articles

SLC announces LPL 2020 auction date

Indian players to play in LPL: Few stalwarts confirm to be mentors

Lanka Premier League 2020 postponed

IPG group to host Lanka Premier League in Sri Lanka

14-day quarantine for foreign players not required in LPL