I got him out lbw when he was about 190 odd: Steyn on Tendulkar
South African fast bowler Dale Steyn has reflected on the day India batsman Sachin Tendulkar scored that famous ODI double century against the Proteas in 2010. He claimed that umpire Ian Gould made a horrible mistake with Tendulkar closing in on the significant achievement.
The little master became the very first player in ODI cricket history to notch up 200 in the format. on the other hand, rather a forgettable day for Steyn and his fellow bowlers.
India smashed South Africa to chase a formidable total of 401-3 in their 50 overs which was due to Sachin’s double century.
Speaking on the Sky Sports Cricket Podcast with James Anderson this week, Steyn gave credit to Tendulkar’s heroics. He also admitted that Tendulkar was undone when he trapped the right-hander in front with Gould denying to give out.
“He [Tendulkar] did score a lot of runs against us. He scored the first double hundred in ODI cricket, and it was against us in Gwalior. And I actually remember – I think I got him out lbw when he was about 190 odd. Gouldy [Ian Gould] was the umpire, and he gave him not out,”
“And I was like, ‘Why, why did you give him not out!? That’s so dead.’ And he was like, Mate, look around – if I gave him out, I won’t make it back to the hotel.’”
Steyn, though, saw the funny side of it and paid huge tribute to Tendulkar’s stellar career and that historic day in Gwalior, where the Proteas suffered a 153-run defeat.
“Especially in a place like India. You bowl a bad bowl, and he hits you for four – he’s on nought and he hits you for four in Mumbai, it feels like the world is closing in on you. He’s only on four not out, he may as well have been on 500.”