ICC announce commentators’ panel for World Cup

The International Cricket Council (ICC) have announced 24 commentators for the ICC Mne’s Cricket World Cup in England.

ICC have announced the much-awaited list of the commentators’ panel where Athar Ali Khan is the only Bangladeshi who is in the list. Former Australian captain Michael Clarke, who lifted the last World Cup in 2015 is all set to make his ICC TV commentary debut alongside some of the game’s most respected broadcasters.

The legendary commentators and some of the vintage cricketers Nasser Hussain, Ian Bishop, Sourav Ganguly, Melanie Jones, Kumar Sangakkara, Michael Atherton, Alison Mitchell, Brendon McCullum, Graeme Smith and Wasim Akram are in the list.

Also Read - Balbirnie handed one demerit point by ICC

Meanwhile, the big names are Shaun Pollock, Michael Slater, Mark Nicholas, Michael Holding, Isa Guha, Pommie Mbangwa, Sanjay Manjrekar, Harsha Bhogle, Simon Doull, Ian Smith, Ramiz Raja, Athar Ali Khan and Ian Ward.

After being included in the commentatory panel, some of the statements from the commentators for the upcoming World Cup:

Nasser Hussain
: “The whole of England and Wales is buzzing with excitement in anticipation of the massive summer of cricket ahead. This edition of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup promises to be the most entertaining one yet and I cannot wait to be part of this event broadcast and witness history in the making, first hand.”

Brendon McCullum: “Still the marquee event in our sport, I’ve got so many wonderful memories of World Cup cricket. 2015 was the pinnacle after a lot of hard work and I’m excited to be involved in a different capacity this time around – hopefully we’ll have plenty of drama!”

Kumar Sangakarra: “This is going to be a very special summer of cricket in England and Wales and possibly the most competitive ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup of all time. Hosts England have a great team but there are several realistic contenders and we are sure to see some amazing cricket along the way.”

The commentators’ list in brief:

Athar Ali Khan (BAN)
Nasser Hussain (ENG)
Michael Atherton (ENG)
Mark Nicholas (ENG)
Alison Mitchell (ENG)
Isa Guha (ENG)
Ian Ward (ENG)
Michael Holding (WI)
Ian Bishop (WI)
Michael Clarke (AUS)
Melanie Jones (AUS)
Michael Slater (AUS)
Sourav Ganguly (IND)
Sanjay Manjrekar (IND)
Harsha Bhogle (IND)
Ramiz Raja (PAK)
Wasim Akram (PAK)
Shaun Pollock (SA)
Graeme Smith (SA)
Kumar Sangakkara (SL)
Brendon McCullum (NZ)
Simon Doull (NZ)
Ian Smith (NZ)
Pommie Mbangwa (ZIM)

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Athar Ali Khan takes part in IPL 2019 commentary

Lee, Sangakkara, Pietersen named in Asia Cup commentary panel

8 commentators announced for Nidahas Trophy

New journey begins for Athar