ICC to decide World Cup qualifiers

Just a month after the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, ICC has launched a brand new tournament for Associate Nations in a bid to promote cricket globally and to take the cricket to a whole new level.

ICC to decide World Cup qualifiers
ICC to decide World Cup qualifiers

The seven-team tourney is going to be really interesting and competitive which will have space for 126 ODIs which will be played across 21 tri-series.

Namibia, Nepal, Oman, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, UAE and the USA are the seven teams that will take on each other. The ICC, after rounds of discussion in the meeting, has said that only the top three teams of the tournament will make it to the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2022.

Also Read - South Africa announce squad for India tour

ICC Head of Events Chris Tetley narrated how proceedings will happen in the newly-launched tournament. Talking about the event yesterday, Tetley called for “exciting four years” going into the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 tournament in India.

“Men’s CWC League 2 gives the seven competing teams, 36 One Day Internationals across two and a half years and providing a real cricket calendar for Associate Members.

The Challenge Leagues A and B will provide the opportunity for Associate teams ranked 21-36 to continue to play competitive cricket and give teams the opportunity to climb the ladder. It will be an exciting four years of cricket in the lead up to the next ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup,” Tetley was quoted as saying.

However, there is still a good opportunity and future for the bottom four teams. The bottom four (out of seven) teams will play Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier Play-Off 2022.

They will be joined by the winner of Challenge League A and B. The first of the 21 tri-series will start from August 14 between Oman, PNG and Scotland in Scotland.

“The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup provided us with great entertainment and competitive cricket. I am delighted to see the start of the qualification process to India 2023. The new structure has given meaningful context to bilateral cricket for the Men’s Cricket World Super League, but also more competitive opportunities to Associate Members,” Tetley added.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Who will be next ICC Chairman?

Stuart Broad fined for breaching ICC Code of Conduct

ICC wins top sports category for Facebook video views in 2020

BCB denies FICA’s allegations

Irish pacer Little faces punishment for violating ICC Code of Conduct