ICC replaces Champions Trophy with World T20

The International Cricket Council, on Wednesday, released the future tour program of the time period of 2018 to 2023 in which ICC Champions Trophy has been officially extricated. A World T20 will be replaced in place of Champions Trophy resulting a back to back World T20 competition in 2020 and 2021.

ICC to replace Champions Trophy with World T20

“As part of the agreed international cricket structure, the ICC Board has already approved an additional ICC World T20 in place of the ICC Champions Trophy as well as giving Twenty20 International Status to all 104 Members,” the ICC release said.

Also Read - Video Clip: 'Messi will score minimum two'

It also confirmed the creation of a nine-team Test league and a 13-team ODI league (12 Test nations plus the Netherlands), to be introduced from 2019 and 2020 respectively.

“The T20 format we always knew was the vehicle for growing the game and transforming the game from being a sport played by a few countries to a truly global sport,” said ICC chief executive Dave Richardson, speaking to reporters in Kolkata.

“I think this decision can only help us in our move or application to the International Olympic Committee (IOC) for the right to participate in the Olympics going forward,” he said.

“It’s going to take a bit of time. The 2024 Olympics will be in Paris and 2028 in Los Angeles. We have already missed the deadline to apply to IOC through the front door to get the right to participate [in the 2024 Olympics],” he added.

“We can’t go to Paris. But we have continued our talks with IOC and with Los Angeles in due course, hopefully by 2028 we will have cricket in the Olympics,” ICC CEO said.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

ICC sends two sets of match officials to Pakistan for security reasons

Front foot no-ball technology to be used in India-West Indies series

ICC honour New Zealand with ‘Spirit of Cricket’ award

Dravid reveals how Test cricket can attract more crowd

Nicholas Pooran banned for four T20Is