Imrul recalled in Bangladesh preliminary ODI squad

Bangladesh Cricket Board has 23-member announced preliminary squad for the three-match home ODI series against Sri Lanka scheduled in late May.

Top-order batter Imrul Kayes has been recalled into the side. He last played an ODI during the 2018 West Indies series at home. Spinner Taijul Islam, who was left out of New Zealand tour, returns.

Also Read - Watch: Parag mimics Sehwag's expressions while batting

Pacer Shohidul Islam is a new face in the team. He has travelled with the Test team to Sri Lanka but was not named in the final squad.

Shakib Al Hasan and Mustafizur Rahman are back in the mix. Shakib had pulled out of New Zealand tour with personal reasons before asking leave for Sri Lanka Tests to play the IPL where Mustafizur is also playing.

The squad includes Afif Hossain, Naim Sheikh, Nasum Ahmed, Shoriful Islam and Mosaddek Hossain – who all did not play in New Zealand ODIs.

The ODI series will form part of Cricket World Cup Super League where Bangladesh have bagged 30 points already and Sri Lanka succumbed negative points for slow over-rate.

The ODI players who are not in Sri Lanka and the IPL will begin training from the 2nd of May till the 9th. Players will be given Eid vacation from May 10 to 17.

Bangladesh preliminary ODI squad: Tamim Iqbal Khan (captain), Naim Sheikh, Imrul Kayes, Liton Kumar Das, Soumya Sarkar, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohmmad Mithun, Mahmudullah Riyad, Afif Hossain Dhrubo, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Sheikh Mahedi Hasan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Nasum Ahmed, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Shoriful Islam, Shohidul Islam.

Related Articles

SL name squad for Bangladesh tour, Kusal Perera to lead

Domingo to continue as Bangladesh head coach

Shakib to skip PSL for DPL T20

Understanding fielding in Liton’s way

I understand my game better: Liton Das