India announce squad for first two Tests against England

BCCI announced the Indian Test squad for the first two Tests against England which will start on February 5th at Chennai.

Twitter erupts as Team India retain Border Gavaskar Trophy

Rahane and his men clinched a memorable Test series win to retain the Border-Gavaskar trophy. India won the Gabba Test by three wickets and conquered the four-match series 2-1. With the series win, India have won back to back Test series wins on Australian soil.

Also Read - Watch: Rohit caught using cuss word while relishing India's win at The Gabba

With the celebrations going around the Indian camp on their famous Test series in Australia, BCCI has moved on to the next assignment for Virat Kohli and co. England will tour India for a long outing of four Tests, three ODIs, and five T20Is.

The tour will kick start with the four-match Test series at Chennai on February 05th. Ahead of the Test series, BCCI announced the squad for the first two Tests, which will be played at Chennai.

Indian skipper Virat Kohli is back on the side, after his paternal leave. The right-arm fast bowler Ishant Sharma is also making comeback from injury. Mohammad Shami, Umesh Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, and Hanuma Vihari will be out for the first two Tests due to injuries.

Axar Patel has been added to the squad as a replacement for Ravindra Jadeja. Hardik Pandya is also making a comeback into the Test side. KS Bharat (wicketkeeper), Abhimanyu Easwaran, Shahbaz Nadeem, and Rahul Chahar have been named as standby players for the first two Tests.

India Squad for first two Tests:
Virat Kohli (captain), Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant, Wriddhiman Saha, Hardik Pandya, KL Rahul (subject to fitness after the first Test), Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, R Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel

Standbyes: KS Bharat (wicketkeeper), Abhimanyu Easwaran, Shahbaz Nadeem, Rahul Chahar

Net bowlers: Ankit Rajpoot, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Warrier, K Gowtham, Saurabh Kumar

Related Articles

Ashwin reacts to controversy over Yuvi’s tweet

India win in two days, knock out England

Watch: Kohli absolutely loses his temper on Stokes in pink-ball Test

Axar, Rohit hand India domination in D/N Test

India spinners turn series to 1-1