Inexperienced Sri Lanka complete a 3-0 whitewash over no. 1 Pakistan

The second-string Sri Lanka have whitewashed the no. 1 T20I team Pakistan in Pakistan’s own home ground by 3-0 as the Lankans won the third and last T20 by 13 runs convincingly on Wednesday, October 9 at Lahore.


This had been the first time that Sri Lanka won a series by 3-0 and for Pakistan, the second whitewash in their T20 history after they suffered the same fate against England in 2015.

Also Read - Shane Bond to act as bowling consultant for England in New Zealand tour

Winning the toss, Sri Lanka captain Dasun Shanaka opted to bat first. But the decision looked wrong at the first look when Sri Lanka were at 30/3 losing the wickets of two openers- Danushka Gunathilaka, Sadeera Samarawickrama and last match hero Bhanuka Rajapaksa. After that, Oshado Fernando managed to ease the situation as the debutant alone scored half of the runs of Sri Lankan innings and succeed to set the reasonable target of 148 runs.

Oshado Fernando scored 78 runs off 48 balls with 8 fours and 3 sixes and remained not out throughout the whole innings. Mohammad Amir took 3 wickets for Pakistan.

Chasing a decent target of 148-runs, Pakistan’s batting woes continued like the first two T20Is as opener Fakhar Zaman was clean bowled by Kasun Rajitha at the first ball of the innings. Then the no.1 T20I batsman Babar Azam and all-rounder Haris Sohail made a good partnership of 76 runs but Babar continued his poor form as he got out scoring 27 runs off 32 balls. After his wicket, Pakistan didn’t manage to move the scorecard with proper run rate and lost wicket continuously. They managed to score 134 runs in 20 overs by losing 6 wickets and fell short of 13 runs.

Haris Sohail scored 52 runs off 50 balls with 4 fours and 1 six. Wanindu Hasaranga took three wickets in his second successive match and adjusted man of the match. He was also named man of the series for his 8 wickets in three matches.


Sri Lanka 147-7 (20 overs)

Oshado Fernando 78* (48), Angelo Perera 13 (11)

Mohammad Amir 3/27, Imad Wasim 1/18

Pakistan 134-6 (20 overs)

Haris Sohail 52 (50), Babar Azam 27 (32)

Wanindu Hasaranga 3/21, Lahiru Kumara 2/24

Toss: Sri Lanka, opted to bat first

Result: Sri Lanka won by 13 runs

Man of the Match: Wanindu Hasaranga

Man of the Series: Wanindu Hasaranga



Related Articles

Perera scores two double centuries in a first-class match