IPL 2020: Wasim Jaffer signed up by Kings XI Punjab as batting coach

Kings XI Punjab is one of the very few IPL franchises to have not won a single title since the inception of Indian Premier League. Ravichandran Ashwin led the team in the last season but they were terrible in all aspects of the game and it was so easy for the opposition teams to beat Kings XI. They finished seventh in the points table, losing five games and winning just three. After a disappointing season, Ravichandran Ashwin was traded to Delhi Capitals for the upcoming IPL.

IPL 2020: Wasim Jaffer signed up by Kings XI Punjab as batting coach
Wasim Jaffer joins as batting coach of Kings XI Punjab.

In the latest development, Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) have made a massive addition to their support staff as they have signed Wasim Jaffer as batting coach for the upcoming season. Kings XI Punjab confirmed the news on its official website, where Wasim Jaffer’s name appears with other members of the coaching staff. Kings XI Punjab batsmen failed to convert small scores into big scores last season and they showed no teeth in the batting department.

However, Wasim Jaffer’s appointment is certain to add a new dimension to the team’s batting attack. Jaffer is a domestic legend and he recently became the first cricketer to play 150 Ranji Trophy matches. He has been with Vidarbha as mentor cum player for past few years and will be hoping to start a new chapter with Kings XI Punjab on a good note.

Also Read - Video: Rohit loses cool at Pant during second ODI

Even as he hasn’t had a long period as a coach – Jaffer was Bangladesh’s batting consultant for Sri Lanka ODIs after the ICC Cricket World Cup. Wasim Jaffer is still considered an active player and still has a few more years of cricket left in him. He might play cricket for a few more years, if does not get the full-time coaching role.

Kings XI Punjab at IPL 2020:

Retained Players:

KL Rahul, Karun Nair, Mohammed Shami, Nicholas Pooran, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Chris Gayle, Mandeep Singh, Mayank Agarwal, Hardus Viljoen, Darshan Nalkande, Sarfaraz Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Harpreet Brar and Murugan Ashwin

Released Players:

Varun Chakravarthy, Andrew Tye, Sam Curran, Simran Singh, David Miller, Moises Henriques and Agnivesh Ayachi.

Trades: Jagdeesha Suchith and Krishnappa Gowtham (in) | Ravichandran Ashwin (out)

Slots left: Nine (4 overseas)

Purse remaining: Rs 42.70 crores

Like and Share the news if you liked it.