Kings pulled victory, Chittagong Vikings thrown out of BPL-5

Kings pulled victory, Chittagong Vikings thrown out of BPL-5 Rajshahi Kings pulled 33 run win against Chittagong Vikings thus threw the home team out of the competition in the fifth edition of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL).

Chasing 157 runs, Chittagong Vikings were restricted in 124 runs, credit goes to the 19 year old left arm seamer Qazi Onik. Onik ripped through the Vikings’ batting line up, captured 4 wickets giving away just 17 runs.

The poor show of batting for Chittagong Vikings showed up in the line up where six of their batsmen failed to reach the double digit. The highest 27 runs came from the bat of Stiaan Van Zyl.

Also Read - Live: Rajshahi Kings to bat first

Anamul Haque Bijoy effort hard to score, could not make more than 23 runs (20 balls) while Soumya Sarkar and Tanbir Hyder scored 13 runs each.

Opting to bat first after winning the toss, Darren Sammy took the lead scoring highest number of runs in Rajshahi Kings innings. His 25 ball 40 run contains 2 boundaries and 3 over boundaries before becoming the third victim of Luis Reece who captured 3 wickets in this match.

Mushfiqur Rahim and James Franklin put the middle order thrust adding 69 runs on the board in the fifth wicket partnership.

Brief Score:

Rajshahi Kings 157/6 (20 overs)
Darren Sammy 40, Mushfiqur Rahim 31, James Franklin 30
Luis Reece 3/33, Nayeem Hasan 1/9, Sunzamul Islam 1/23

Chittagong Vikings 124 all out (19.2 overs)
Stiaan Van Zyl 27, Anamul Haque 23, Soumya Sarkar 13
Qazi Onik 4/17, Mustafizur Rahman 2/18, Usama Mir 1/15

Result: Rajshahi Kings won by 33 runs.
Toss: Rajshahi Kings.

Related Articles

New domestic T20 league to be arranged with Premier League teams

Al-Amin Hossain accused of illegal bowling action

BCB longs to own production rights of next BPL

Tamim might face punishment for violating rules of contract

Gayle to play for Rangpur Riders in BPL 2018