KKR seal an easy win against RCB at Eden Gardens

Opener Chris Lynn anchored his innings to perfection as Kolkata Knight Riders were back to winning ways with a comfortable six-wicket win against Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Chasing a competitive target of 176, KKR reached the target in 19.1 overs with Lynn scoring an unbeaten 62 off 52 balls with seven fours and a six. KKR captain Dinesh Karthik relishing his new found role as a finisher, played his part with a 10-ball-23 to make it easy in the end.

At the onset of the chase, Lynn and Sunil Narine (27 off 19 balls) provided a solid if not spectacular foundation adding 51 runs in the power play overs.  KKR were well above Duckworth-Lewis par-score at 55 for no loss when play was temporarily halted at 6.3 overs.

Also Read - Williamson's captain knock seal Sunrisers Hyderabad's win

Once the match resumed, Narine was holed out at the long-off boundary off Murugan’s bowling. Robin Uthappa (36 off 21 balls) blazed his way with three fours and three sixes before being caught in deep off Murugan’s bowling.  Lynn however kept playing the sweep shot against spinners with varying degree of success as RCB clawed their way back into the match during the middle overs.

Earlier, skipper Kohli was once again the stand-out performer with an unbeaten 44-ball-68 as Royal Challengers Bengaluru managed a below-par 175 for 4 in 20 overs.  Kohli’s innings comprised of five fours and three sixes while Brendon McCullum contributed 38 off 28 balls. Openers McCullum and Quinton de Kock (29 off 27 balls) put on 67 runs but consumed eight overs in the process.

KKR with eight points remained in fourth place while Virat Kohli’s men slumped further with their fifth defeat in seven games.

Brief score:

RCB 175/4 (20 ov) | Kohli 68* (44), McCullum 28 (28) | Russell 3/31
KKR 176/4 (19.1 ov) | Lynn 62* (52), Karthik 23 (10) | Ashwin 2/36

Result: Kolkata Knight Riders won by 6 wickets

Related Articles

A Fan Asked Mayanti Langer For A Date, She Gave A Heart-Winning Reply!

IPL 2018: 3 captaincy replacement options available for RCB

IPL 2018: Best XI of the tournament

Watch Shakib’s performance in IPL final

Rampage Watson gives CSK 3rd IPL title