KL Rahul can score double century in ODIs: Chopra

India and Australia are just hours away from battling against each other in the full-fledged tour. The tour commences with ODI series with the first match scheduled to be played today at the iconic Sydney Cricket Ground in Sydney.

KL Rahul can score double century in ODIs: Chopra

Meanwhile, players of both teams have been prepping for a daunting task. As far as India are concerned, expectations will be pretty much high on KL Rahul who earned his place for the overseas tour in all three formats.

Also Read - Natarajan added to the ODI squad

Moreover, he won the orange cap as he ended the tournament with the highest run-scorer with as many as 670 runs to his name. A lot will be expected from the right-handed batsman in the tour. He is also the vice-captain of ODI and T20I series.

KL Rahul can score a double century: Chopra

Meanwhile, former Indian opener and analyst Aakash Chopra believes that KL Rahul has all the tools to hit a double century in ODI cricket. KL Rahul showcased his mojo with the bat in the IPL where he registered a highest individual score of 132* by an Indian.

He took just 69 balls to score that huge knock. Chopra believes that KL Rahul can score a double century if he plays as an opener. According to the cricket expert, Rahul has sensational talent and if he comes up the order, he has all the possibilities to score a double century.

“This question does not have an easy answer because Rohit is not there. So, the question is who will be opening with Shikhar, who will be one of the openers in ODIs and T20Is. Do you see Mayank Agarwal opening, that is a big question, or will you see towards Sanju Samson or open with KL Rahul,” said Aakash Chopra while answering fans on his YouTube channel.

“My heart says that KL Rahul should open because the sort of player he is, he scores hundreds, and in my opinion, if he plays very well, he can even score a double hundred in ODIs.”

The cricket expert further predicted India’s probable XI in limited over series as-

“So this is how the team will look like – Mayank with Shikhar, Kohli at No.3, Iyer at No.4, Rahul at No.5, Hardik at No.6, Jaddu at No.7 and after that four bowlers – Chahal, Bumrah, Shami and I will go with T Natarajan.”

Team India ODI squad:

Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul (vice-captain & wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Mayank Agarwal, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur, T Natarajan

Team India T20I squad:

Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul (vice-captain and wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, T Natarajan

Team India Test squad:

Virat Kohli (Captain), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Mohd. Siraj

Related Articles

Chopra picks his 5 biggest moments of 2020

Chopra names his T20I XI of the decade

Aakash Chopra names his ODI XI of the decade

Chopra picks two IPL stars who might be picked for home series against England

Aakash Chopra picks India’s opening pair for 1st Test against Australia