Kohli named captain of CA’s Test XI of the decade

Just like previous year, Virat Kohli enjoyed batting through and through this year. Rightly so, he ended up as the leading run-scorer across formats. He has scored 2,455 runs this year. Besides being the top scorer, he has also been a good captain. Except 30 minutes of gameplay against New Zealand in the ICC World Cup 2019, everything went well for India. Virat Kohli-led team haven’t lost even a single series since then.

Virat Kohli

Now, Virat Kohli has been named skipper of Cricket Australia’s Test XI of the decade. The 11 players comprise some of the biggest names to have made an indelible mark in Test cricket in the last decade. Virat Kohli was praised by CA for evolving into “one of the cricket’s most respected figures over the years” besides weaving the magic with the bat. According to XI, Virat Kohli would bat lower down the order.

Former England captain Alastair Cook was selected as the best opener with Australia’s David Warner as his partner. New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson will bat at number three and Australian stalwart Steve Smith and Kohli follow next on the list at number four and five respectively.

Also Read - Ireland plan to host Bangladesh T20Is in England

At No.6 comes South African batting great AB de Villiers, who is also chosen as the wicketkeeper-batsman.

England all-rounder Ben Stokes is chosen at No.7. South African legend Dale Steyn, Stuart Broad and James Anderson will handle the pace brigade and Nathan Lyon of Australia is the lone spinner. The coveted list also had big mentions for every positions and it should be noted that India’s premium off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin was named along with Lyon.

Related Articles

VIDEO: AB de Villiers’ all 6 sixes in his 22-ball 55* during RR vs RCB game

VIDEO: AB de Villiers’ powerfull shot reached boundary after hitting the stumps

Barring one super-human, everyone struggled on the pitch: Virat Kohli

Hard to stop AB de Villiers on a ground like this: Dinesh Karthik

AB de Villiers reacts after receiving man of the match award