Kohli surpasses Gavaskar, Azharuddin after 208-run win over Bangladesh

By registering a big win of 208 runs over Bangladesh in the one-off Test match at Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Hyderabad, the Virat Kohli-led India side have broken and created many records. [Read in Bangla: গাভাস্কার, আজহারউদ্দিনকে পিছনে ফেললেন কোহলি]


The series victory is India’s sixth consecutive under Kohli’s leadership – the most for an India cricket team in a row. The previous best was five series victories between October 2008 and January 2010. Before Hyderabad, India have registered Test series wins against Sri Lanka, South Africa, West Indies, New Zealand and England.

Also Read - Batsmen fail to save Hyderabad test

Kohli now also has the best win percentage among all India captains. He suffered two defeats in his first four Tests as captain, but he has not lost another Test since then. Kohli is without a defeat in his last 19 Tests, which is the longest streak for any Indian captain. Kohli surpassed Sunil Gavaskar, who did not have a defeat in 18 consecutive Tests between 1976 and 1980.

With this latest success, Kohli also surpassed former skipper Azharuddin’s record. The 28-year-old Kohli is now the 3rd most successful Indian captain behind Mahendra Singh Dhoni (27 wins in 60 matches) and Sourav Ganguly (21 wins in 49 matches). Today’s was Kohli’s 15th win as captain in 23 Tests. Azharuddin had 14 wins in 47 matches.

Read Also- Root set to receive captaincy role

– Jannatul Naym Pieal, Correspondent,

Related Articles

West Indies to stay under 7-day quarantine in Bangladesh

‘Different’ Mashrafe cuts down weight, starts practice

Mominul doubtful for West Indies series

Dhaka, Chattogram to host West Indies series

Mushfiqur rules out chances of leading Bangladesh