Live: Bangladesh elect to bat first in 2nd Test

Live: Bangladesh elect to bat first in 2nd Test

After gaining a lead of 1-0, Bangladesh have elected to bat first in the second Test against Australia at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong. [বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ টস জিতে ব্যাটিংয়ে বাংলাদেশ]

Bangladesh won the first Test in Dhaka by 20 runs. It was their first ever Test victory against mighty Australia. The winning margin is the narrowest for Bangladesh in their Test history.

Also Read - Smith hints at playing three spinners

The Tigers took an unassailable lead of 1-0 in the two-match series as they are eyeing their fourth series victory. Their last series victory was against Zimbabwe in 2014. If they can win or draw the Chittagong series, undoubtedly this will be the best series for Bangladesh.

Bangladesh have chosen to bat first after winning the toss in Chittagong. Both sides have made changes in their playing XIs.

Bangladesh have brought left-handed batsman Mominul Haque back in place of right-arm seamer Shafiul Islam, which means Mustafizur Rahman is the lone pacer for Bangladesh in this Test. The Tigers are going with eight batsmen strategy.

Australia have made two changes. Josh Hazlewood was already out of the series due to side strain injury. His replacement Steve O’Keefe has made a return. Left-handed batsman Usman Khawaja has been left out. All-rounder Hilton Cartwright is playing his second Test. He is the second pacer in Australian line-up after Pat Cummins.


Click here to get ball by ball live update here-

Playing XIs:

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim (captain & wk), Shakib Al Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman

Australia: David Warner, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (captain), Peter Handscomb, Glenn Maxwell, Hilton Cartwright, Matthew Wade (wk), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Steve O’Keefe, Nathan Lyon


-Ruffin, Correspondent,

Related Articles

BCB responds to the criticism of bad outfield

‘Australia were more consistent than us’ says Walsh

Chief selector blames implementation of batting for the loss

Why Mominul is in number eight?

Mushfiq, Miraz, Sabbir, Mustafiz improve in ‘ICC Test Player Rankings’