Lord’s set to witness historical exhibition match

The iconic Lord’s Cricket Ground is all set to witness a special fundraising T20 International match between the ICC World XI and Windies, on Thursday  31st May 2018. The match will start at 11 PM, according to Bangladesh time (5 PM GMT). [নিউজটি বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ রাতে বিশ্ব একাদশের হয়ে লড়তে প্রস্তুত তামিমরা]

Lord's set to witness historical exhibition match
Shahid Afridi will lead the ICC World XI side in Eoin Morgan’s absence. (Picture: ICC)

Former Pakistan skipper Shahid Afridi will lead the ICC World XI in the action of a galaxy of former and current international stars. Although earlier, England’s limited overs captain Eoin Morgan was announced captain for the ICC World XI , he later sustained a broken finger during a domestic match which through him out of the action.

The ICC World XI squad wears an extremely strong look. Bangladesh’s hard-hitting opener Tamim Iqbal, England’s Sam Billings, Indian wicket-keeper batsman Dinesh Karthik, former Blackcaps opener Luke Ronchi and Pakistan all-rounder Shoaib Malik, with Shahid Afridi and Thisara Perera providing excellent options for a late burst, makes for a mouth-watering batting line-up. Karthik, Ronchi and Billings are all wicket-keeping candidates, while in McClenaghan, Curran and Mills, there’s a good pace department.

Also Read - Tigress squad announced for Women's Asia Cup

On the other hand, 2016 T20 World Cup final hero Carlos Brathwaite who hit Ben Stokes for four successive sixes  to win the title for his side, will lead Windies in the upcoming big match. Windies squad is consist of many big names as well as some fantastic T20 talent. Popular T20 cricketers like Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, Evin Lewis and Badree are the big names in Caribbean line-up, while in Marlon Samuels, Andre Fletcher, Rovman Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Kesrick Williams and others, there’s a lot of firepower.



ICC World XI
: Shahid Afridi (Captain), Sam Billings (WK), Sam Curran, Tamim Iqbal, Tymal Mills, Dinesh Karthik (WK), Rashid Khan, Sandeep Lamichhane, Mitchell McClenaghan, Shoaib Malik, Thisara Perera, Luke Ronchi (WK), Adil Rashid.

West Indies: Carlos Brathwaite (Captain), Samuel Badree, Rayad Emrit, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Ashley Nurse, Keemo Paul, Rovman Powell, Denesh Ramdin (WK), Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Kesrick Williams.

Related Articles

Windies outplay World XI in charity T20I

Live: World XI bowl first in one-off T20I

Tamim fitter than before

Raising funds goal for Tamim

Lamichhane included in World XI; Shakib withdraws