Morgan set for BPL debut

Nearly three years back it was Eoin Morgan who refused to land in Bangladesh as his side England were on for a bilateral tour. The Englishman is now available to play BPL 2019-20. [নিউজটি বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ বিপিএলের আগামী আসরে খেলবেন মরগান]

Security in Bangladesh turned out to be an issue during 2016 after a terrorist attack at a restaurant that killed several foreigners. The situation soon seemed to be normal as days went by.

Also Read - Brave Afghans Made Favorite Indians Toil

England’s limited-overs captain Morgan will play for one-time Bangladesh Premier League winners Dhaka Dynamites later this year. The Dynamites management has confirmed the signing.

Dhaka Dynamites have a reputation of bringing in notable cricketers around the globe to Bangladesh. West Indians Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Afghanistan’s Hazratullah Zazai were there in the previous edition that took place in January-February this year.

Morgan is not the first regular England international to play BPL. Moeen Ali made his appearance for Duronto Rajshahi way back in 2013. Jason Roy joined Sylhet Sixers this year before playing for Chittagong Kings in 2013. England’s pace sensation Jofra Archer made his mark in 2017 when he represented Khulna Titans.

Besides, BPL teams have a nack of contracting England’s domestic players including some of Kolpak players (Rilee Rossouw, Kyle Abbott, Cameron Delport). The latest edition had Luke Wright and Ian Bell playing for the Dynamites.

Potentially Dhaka Dynamites are far ahead from other teams in terms of success and consistency. Led by world’s one of leading all-rounders, Shakib Al Hasan, they have played three successive finals – winners in 2016, runners-up in 2017 and 2019.

The seventh edition of BPL T20 is scheduled to take place in November-December this year, making it two BPL tournaments in a calendar year.

Related Articles

Rajshahi disappointed with Ashraful’s performance

Sujon expects Shakib to return to his old rhythm soon

Gibbs enjoying coaching in Sri Lanka

Mushfiqur wants title in Bangabandhu T20 Cup

BCB president confirms no BPL in 2020