Morris recalled for first Test; Faf, Steyn fit

15-member South Africa has squad has been announced for the first Test against India, which begins on January 5 at Newlands, Cape Town. All-rounder Chris Morris has been recalled into the side.

Morris recalled for first Test; Faf, Steyn fit

Morris was out of international cricket after July. He didn’t play full-series against Bangladesh. Although he did take part in the T20 tournament, Ram Slam Challenge. But he sustained a groin injury in the final that put him out of contention for the Boxing Day Test against Zimbabwe.

Also Read - Hathurusingha bans music in Sri Lankan training camp!

Regular skipper Faf du Plessis and Dale Steyn were ruled out of the Port Elizabeth Test with viral infection. AB de Villiers captained the Proteas to a dominating victory in two days over the Zimbabweans.

The squad has Andile Phehlukwayo as another all-rounder, who bowled well in the D/N Test. Meanwhile, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada, Morne Morkel and Steyn are the frontline fast bowlers. Morkel took a quick five-wicket haul in the first innings against Zimbabwe. Philander bowled quite well in that match.

Keshav Maharaj is the only spinner in the squad. He took a five-for in the second innings in Port Elizabeth.

Theunis de Bruyn retains his place. Cricket South Africa did not name any reserve wicket-keeper. This suggests that Quinton de Kock may recover hamstring injury that he sustained in the Boxing Day Test.

South Africa will host India for three Tests, six ODIs and three T20Is.

South Africa squad: Faf du Plessis (capt), Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, Theunis de Bruyn, AB de Villiers, Dean Elgar, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Andile Phehlukwayo, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada, Dale Steyn


-Ruffin, Correspondent,

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Vince and Morris sign up for BBL

CWC 2019: South Africa opt to bowl first against Bangladesh

BCCI denies Proteas coach’s request to call back SA players from IPL

Proteas’ Morris pens new deal with Hampshire

WC 2019: Proteas name replacement for Anrich Nortje