Mushfiqur to become highest-earner of Bangladesh

Wicketkeeper-batsman Mushfiqur Rahim is going to be the highest paid cricketer of his country under the new pay structure set by the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB).Mushfiqur to become highest-earner of Bangladesh

This new pay structure has been designed by the BCB for the national contracted cricketers on the basis of points accumulated in last three years.

Recently the board had decided that they would introduce white and red-ball contract for their national contracted cricketers for the 2020 season.

Also Read - Yes, I Am Black, that's My Skin: Temba Bavuma

BCB had also increased the Test match fee from TK 3.5 Lakh to TK 6 Lakh so that the cricketers could be more encouraged and serious about playing the longest format of the game.

This is the first time for Bangladesh cricket’s highest authority to increase the salary of the national cricketers for the first time in last three years.

According to Cricbuzz, a cricketer receives 8 points for playing every Test match till 2017. On the other hand, he receives 10 points for every Test matches he played in 2018 and 2019.

Again, a player gets four and three points respectively for the ODIs and T20Is that he played till 2017. He receives five and four points respectively for playing ODIs and T20Is in last two years.

By this rule, Mushfiqur receives 574 points in Tests, which is the highest among his teammates. He also gets the highest points (1172) in shorter formats. Tamim Iqbal and Mahmudullah Riyad are in the next two positions. While Tamim receives 472 points in Test and 1087 points in shorter formats, Mahmudullah pockets 410 and 1049 respectively.

As Mushfiqur has the highest points, the board has come to the decision of rewarding him TK 6,20,000 as monthly salary while Tamim and Mahmudullah will get TK 6,00,000 as monthly salary that was proposed to the board. To be noted, all three used to receive TK 4,00,000 as salary during the last pay structure.

Meanwhile, Bangladesh Test captain Mominul Haque, Liton Kumar Das, Mehidy Hasan Miraj and Rubel Hossain are expected to receive TK 3,00,000 with Taijul Islam (TK 2,50,000), Imrul Kayes(TK 2,00,000) and Mohammad Mithun (TK1,75,000) in the next three brackets.

Mustafizur Rahman will face a pay cut. From now on, he will earn TK 50,000 lesser than what he did last time. Previously he had a monthly salary of TK 3,00,000.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

BCB plans to start DPL at two venues outside Dhaka

BCB preparing stadiums for resumption of cricket

BCB introduces COVID-19 WELLNESS app

We’re not thinking about Sri Lanka tour: BCB

BCB gives good news, cricketers can start practice individually