Pacers and openers star in Kiwis thumping win over Lankans

New Zealand make entry to the first win of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019 with a crushing win beating Sri Lanka by 10 wickets in the third match of the World Cup at Cardiff Wales Stadium in Cardiff on Saturday, June 1.

Ferguson and Neesham
Pacer Lockie Ferguson celebrating his wicket against Sri lanka

Sri Lanka drooped to a terrible ninth straight ODI rout as they played down just 29.2 overs scoring a dim 136 runs losing all their wickets. Sri Lanka got no reply of the Kiwis pacers as the pacers took nine among the ten wickets of the Sri Lankan innings.

Earlier, winning the toss New Zealand captain Kane Williamson didn’t think twice to bowl first under the overcast conditions and the greenery pitch in front of them. The bowlers justified the decision as they were looking fierce from the first over and it didn’t take much time to get the first wicket of the match.

Also Read - Amla doubtful starter for Bangladesh match

Starting with Lahiru Thirimanne, they took the wicket of Kusal Perera and Kusal Mendis inside the powerplay. And all the credit went to the speedster Matt Henry undoubtedly as he took all the 3 wickets in the powerplay. He bowled 7 overs in the match and took 3 wickets by giving away just 29 runs in the match.

After that, wickets were shattering down continuously as Sri Lanka bundled out for just 136. Among eleven, only three batsman of Sri Lanka were able to touch the double digit of individual score. Captain Dimuth Karunaratne was the lone warrior for Sri Lanka as he picked up a half-century and was unbeaten till the end with 52 runs from 84 balls. Lockie Ferguson took 3 wickets while Trent Boult, Collin de Grandhomme, James Neesham and Mitchell Santner took 1 wicket each.

Then New Zealand chased the target easily inside just 17 overs as both the openers of New Zealand picked up a half-century to grab the easy 10-wicket win for the Kiwis. Martin Guptill scored 73 runs off 51 balls with 8 fours and 2 sixes whereas the other opener Colin Munro made 58 runs off 47 balls with 6 fours and 1 six.

Pacer Matt Henry was adjudged man of the match for his superb bowling performance.


Brief Score:

Sri Lanka 136-10 (29.2 overs)

Dimuth Karunaratne 52 (84), Kusal Perera 29 (24)

Lockie Ferguson 3/22, Matt Henry 3/29


New Zealand 137-0 (16.1 overs)

Martin Guptill 73* (51), Colin Munro 58* (47)


Result: New Zealand won by 10 wickets

Toss: New Zealand won and elected to field first

Man of the Match: Matt Henry

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Jamieson, Conway earn NZC contracts as Munro, Raval lose deals

Munro talks about his brilliant run-out by Virat Kohli

KL Rahul creates a new world record in T20I series against Kiwis

Video: Kohli’s sharp run-out sends Munro back to the hut

Malan-Morgan-Parkison star in destructive English win over New Zealand