PCB names best XI of PSL 2020

The 2020 season of the PSL came to en end with Karachi Kings beating Lahore Qalanders in the intriguing final on November 17 at National Stadium Karachi. Karachi Kings scripted history as they won their maiden PSL trophy. After the end of the tournament, a four-member independent jury named the best playing XI of PSL 2020.

PCB names Best XI of PSL 2020

Bazid Khan, Ramiz Raja and Urooj Mumtaz, and Nadeem Khan (member of the PSL 2020 Technical Committee and PCB Director – High Performance) announced 12-member squad including four overseas players. Islamabad United’s skipper Shadab Khan was named as the captain of the Best Playing XI.

Also Read - Bangabandhu T20 Cup 2020: Rajshahi announce their captain

The squad comprises 6 players from Lahore Qalandars, three from Karachi Kings, one each from Islamabad United, Peshawar Zalmi, and Quetta Gladiators.

Talking about players’ selection in the squad, Ramiz Raja said: “Selecting 12 top performers from a rich list of outstanding performers was a challenge for the entire panel. We have picked a performance-based and balanced side that can compete against any HBL PSL 2020 franchise cricket side in any conditions.”

“Overall, the credit for the overwhelming success of HBL PSL 2020 in Pakistan goes to all participants who galvanised and entertained the nation with some attractive, aggressive and competitive cricket. Through the HBL PSL as well as the National T20 Cup and the ongoing Quaid-e-Azam Trophy, the selectors, as well as cricket fans and followers, have been able to spot and identify a number of excellent cricketers, who I am sure we’ll see in international cricket at some stage.” he was quoted as saying by

Shadab Khan says he is honoured to lead the team:

After being elected as the captain of Islamabad United in PSL 2020, Pakistani cricketer Shadab Khan said he feels honoured to lead the team that comprises terrific performers. Nonetheless, he was also disappointed that he couldn’t take his team to the playoffs. However, the skipper is quite confident that they will bounce back next season to win the title.

“I feel honoured to have been appointed captain of Team of the HBL PSL 2020, which includes some fine performers from one of the most successful events. However, it hurts that we were unable to make it to the playoffs. We gave our best shot, which was clearly not enough, and means we have to come harder and stronger when the sixth edition is played next year.” Shadab stated.

Here’s the best team picked by PCB

Babar Azam (Karachi Kings)

Chris Lynn (Lahore Qalandars)

Alex Hales (Karachi Kings)

Haider Ali (Peshawar Zalmi)

Mohammad Hafeez (Lahore Qalandars)

Shadab Khan (captain, Islamabad United)

Ben Dunk (wicketkeeper, Lahore Qalandars)

David Wiese (Lahore Qalandars)

Mohammad Amir (Karachi Kings)

Shaheen Shah Afridi (Lahore Qalandars)

Mohammad Hasnain (Quetta Gladiators)

Fakhar Zaman (12th, Lahore Qalandars)

Related Articles

Botha replaces Misbah as head coach of Islamabad United

Azhar Mahmood reveals Pakistan’s three future star

Karachi Kings reach Pakistan Super League 2020 semi-final

PSL 2020 All Team Squad List: Complete list of squads for all six teams

Steyn ensures visiting Pakistan to play in PSL 2020